Crispy Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LynnzeeJ
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I made this recipe. I added green onions and replaced nutmeg with a heavy dose of chilli powder. I wasn't sure if the mixture was supposed to be so wet (I clothe dried the potatoes, but still wet) so I added a bit extra flower. I also added seasoning salt and the pepper. I read they put garlic in thought that was a good idea so I added 2 cloves. But Im not supposed to eat fried food so I baked them at 425 until brown then flipped them over. After they were basically cooked through I added some shredded sharp cheddar and topped with a dab of sour cream and salsa!! AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnzeeJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
These were bland and I had to add two extra eggs and they were still falling apart. I will make it again, but I'm going to double the egg and add lots of seasoning to it. It also had way too much onion in it, which may be why the pancakes fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
These had a good flavor, but one would be in the kitchen all day following the directions as is! Instead of peeling and shredding 2 lbs of potatoes with a grater, I just used 1 2lb 4oz bag of defrosted Ora-Ida hashbrown potatoes. I used a sweet yellow onion and it was gigantic, so I just used one onion. It would have taken forever, and a lot of tears, to mince the thing so I just chopped it large and then put in my Vitamix blender on medium speed about 10-20 seconds, processing them down with the tamper. It created closer to a puree. It worked fine and at least I know the onions got cooked through. Lastly, I highly suggest using a a large plug-in griddle if making the recipe. Only 4 will fit in a standard sized pan and I found one batch takes 20 minutes. I got 14 patties, using a mashed potato scoop, and all would fit on one of those large rectangular plug in griddles at one time. That would save a full hour of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
We loved these potatoes! They were great as is and with some shredded cheddar sprinkled on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was a great recipe - the addition of the baking powder and flour made them puff up while being fried, which insulated the inside from the heat, making them fluffier and softer inside while still brown and crispy outside! The only quibble I have with this recipe - you have to squeeze the juice out of the grated potatoes before mixing them with the rest of the ingredients, or it becomes one big soggy wet mess! In addition, I was unable to make them crispy with just half a cup of oil - I ended up going the traditional route and frying them in 1.5" of oil in an electric fryer - after draining and sitting on paper towels for a few minutes, they have the same amount of oil in them as with pan-frying, and the oil can be re-used if it's not overheated. But still, good recipe and I'd make it again - with those minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Very good! Definitely fry in a skillet versus a griddle (I used a griddle and the sides didn't get crispy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilglossonsmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Mmmmm. These were delicious. I left out the nutmeg but I added a little garlic. I also squeezed out the excess liquid from the potatoes. With the help of my food processor, this recipe was quick, easy and definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I forgot the flour so maybe my rating is not justified. My observation is that to make these crispy, we need a fair bit of oil, if we skimp on the oil, it will not be crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I made them for my family and my daughter who usually turns her nose up at potatoes took seconds. I need to read the reviews as to how to decrease the liquid. They were hard to shape into patties. But, we will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States