Crispy Oven-Roasted Rosemary Chicken with Sausage and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This is the type of meal you prepare if you invite someone over and want to impress them... And it's easy to make! The aroma will have your guests' mouths watering from the moment they step foot through the door. I made it for my mother, and it is now her new favorite meal. I added carrots, onions, and a little extra rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Very good ! I browned everything early in the day and chilled until dinner time. Popped it in the over for about 25 minutes and it was delicious. I used polish sausage, 6 boneless chicken breasts sprinkled with garlic powder and added two vidalia onions the recipe, no vinegar, and added chopped chives for garnish and a little color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I enjoyed this dish. Very tasty. The chicken was excellent! It did, however, turn out just a little too salty and greasy. That's an easy fix next time, though :) Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I served this to a group of six, and I only had some potatoes left over. I used all chicken legs. The browning process is time consuming, but recipe times were spot on. I placed the potatoes in the bottom of my baking dish, then topped with the chicken and the sausage. I stirred the potatoes and turned the chicken and sausage twice during the baking process. I drizzled with real red wine, instead of red wine vinegar. I think you can probably leave off the drizzle of oil, as everything is pre-cooked in oil, and mine came out too greasy. I had to sop up some of the grease with a paper towel before serving. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This recipe actually combines 2 recipes that my Italian mother made regularly: rosemary chicken with roasted potatoes and sausage and peppers ... it seems to work! I never EVER cook sausages in oil. I pierce them with a fork (you must pierce or, like a baked potato, they will explode!), add a bit of water to the pan with the sausages then cover and cook for about 5 min. or so. (You do this so the insides get a head start on cooking and you don't have to over-fry them.) Then I drain the water and continue to cook (fry) uncovered until they are browned and well cooked. This should solve the problem of too 'greasy'. As we are spice lovers we did indeed add garlic, onions that we caramelized and sweet peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This meal is hearty and delicious. It doesn't get any easier or tastier. I used thighs and beer brats and I added sweet onions and garlic. I threw this meal meal together pretty quickly and it appeared and tasted as I would have been preparing for it all day ! I love this recipe, definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Mmmm... this was a really easy, delicious, and elegant dinner to make. It made our entire house smell wonderful - my friends couldn't wait to dig in! I added a bit of ground pepper to the chicken when browning it, with the salt, as well as some sliced onions to the sausage. I also threw in some whole garlic cloves, about six, to bake with the whole thing. The result was an occasional savoury bite of roasted garlic with the potatoes, which was really nice with the rosemary. Great recipe - I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FreshBaked

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Wonderful and a lot of fun to pour a glass of wine and cook. Smells great. Enough things to do to make you feel like you are cooking but little enough to not make you tired of cooking. And the end result was wonderful. I did add some minced garlic and onions when I browned the potatoes. Thanks OP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Great recipe even without the sausage, i'm going to try it tonite with mushrooms. very easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harmony'sMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eighty Four, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pleasant Hills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Great dinner! My boyfriend did add a small sliced onion to the brats when cooking. It carmelized nicely. This will be a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States