Crispy Oven-Roasted Rosemary Chicken with Sausage and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
great recipe, I used all drum sticks and polish sausage. Also used one sweet potato and yukon gold potatoes. My husband loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeproductions

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I am giving this 4 stars since I made changes to the recipe - not by choice. My lovely black lab decided the rosemary was for him so I used oregano as a back up. Based on others reviews regarding the amount of grease I made the following changes to the steps: I browned kielbasa (I didn't have bratwurst and the kielbasa actually added a nice flavor) without any oil. I then browned strips of boneless chicken breast with fresh minced garlic and oregano in the remaining oil in the pan from the kielbasa. I added 1 TBS of olive oil for the potatoes. I added freshly chopped onions and more oregano to the potatoes. I placed these 3 ingredients on separate plates with paper towels to absorb any excess grease. This worked perfectly to reduce the greasiness others mentioned. The chicken was dry so next time I make this recipe, if I use strips of boneless chicken breasts, I will place them in the baking dish raw or leave them in larger pieces. I will also closely guard the rosemary from the dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
SO. YUMMY. a little oily, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna the Squirrel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I LOVE THIS - I made it without the sausage and carrots, just because I didn't have any at the time and used a whole chicken instead, covered it for part of the time in the oven and uncovered it towards the end, as well as adding some chicken broth to the bottom of the pan, YUM! it fell off the bone and the potatoes I added, (because of lack of sausage and carrots) were amazing. TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheRocS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Fabulous for my taste with a few changes...cut the oil in halfl, browned chicken and potatoes at high heat to get real crispy without overcooking. After putting everything together in the roasting dish I poured the excess fat out of the pan and then de-glazed with white wine and white wine vinegar and poured that over the mixture before putting in oven. I also cut back on the rosemary...1 TB was plenty. This is one of those great basic dishes that you can have fun customizing (next time I am adding some vinegar peppers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Really tasty, but too greasy. I would skip the oil altogether and just spray some cooking spray on a non-stick pan before cooking the sausage. That should be all you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This recipe is fabulous! The only problem I did, which has nothing to do with the recipe, is that I couldn't find fresh Rosemary, so I used the dried stuff. It was like little pieces of wood in there! Everything else was wonderful, though! I will be making this again, and I will definitely be sure to search for fresh Rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This is a very hearty meal and makes a lot of food... definitely needs a vegetable side dish and a lot of people to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadelta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This recipe produced a dish that was "white"...no color to it, though I see the photo shows something orange? Maybe carrots? It was more like oven roasted potatoes with some chicken and sausage. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WisconsinMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Very very good. I actually used sweet potatoes instead of regular white potatoes, and it was delicious! Also added portabello mushrooms & onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Metzger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States