Crispy Oven-Fried Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Skillet
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This is a good dish. I mis-read the recipe and bought whiting. I added some glazed roasted pecans and almonds to the croutons, which added a sweet, earthy flavor. Others had dipped in milk first then flour but when I did it this way the croutons wouldn't adhere. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skillet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was so good! I used cod for this and had no trouble with the coating being mushy but that may be because I dipped my fish into egg substitute instead of the milk. Very nice and served it with a horseradish sauce on this site. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
very good...I did as others said and seasoned the flour, plus I used panko crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I had my doubts about this recipe...fish, croutons...not too sure. But went ahead and made it and I must say it was A BIG HIT at my house. I thought my husband wouldn't go for it but he loved it. My kids did too! It was a great healthy recipe and now is saved in my recipe box with my other favourite ones. The only thing I didnt use was the Pepperidge Farms Cut Zesty because I had no idea what it was and I didn't have any so I used fine breadcrumbs combined with the crushed multigran croutons I had. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
A great simple family favorite, add some homemade chips ('fries' to you non anglophiles) and malt vinegar and you're set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherwood McGowan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I'm giving it 4 stars because it never got really crispy. In fact, the bottoms were a little soggy. I used Mahi Mahi, milk dunk, flour seasoned with Tony Charere's, milk dunk and seasoned italian bread crumbs. I think if I make it again, I will flip the fish over so it gets crispiER on both sides. All in all, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Super easy to make and my kid who is a picky eater, loved it. I used Tilapia this time around since that is all I could get my hands on at the grocery store. I cooked it for 15-20 mins since the chunks of fish were on the thick side. I'll be making this again, thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Fantastic, although I took some huge liberties with the recipe. to the flour i added 1/4 (just under) instant mashed potato flakes-i had seen them used in another fish recipe. i seasoned this mix with dill, italian seasoning and paprika. The coating i had croutons, but not enough, so i added the rest of a box of cheez-its to the croutons. still a little shy for coating i added a little crisp rice cereal. About two minutes before i took them out of the oven i sprinkled with fried onions. A winner! Great coating. mine did cook a bit longer then ten minutes, but they were still a little frozen. We should be eating more fish now that i have such an easy way to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was an excellent recipe for fish, quick, easy and delicious. I used scrod and it just melted in your mouth. Even my 10 year old son loved it. A definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I have never breaded any kind of meat or fish before and found it really easy. I didn't get the crumb to stick as much as I would have liked but still tasty. Only thing I changed was to use frozen cod steaks instead of fresh fillets as they were half the price. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States