Crispy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
We all loved this recipe. My husband and son said, "A+".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Johnny Scotch
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
The zest made it for me. Made it with Kagoshima beef! (I live in Japan). Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
We all loved it. Followed what everyone else said and didn't put too much sugar in it..my husband really enjoyed and wants me to make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Too sweet, not enough other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I made the recipe with Trader Joes beefless strips because I am vegetarian. I don't think it adds up to 1.5 lbs so I had plenty of sauce. I would reduce the sugar by maybe 25% next time. I also used oj from an actual orange instead of the frozen oj and put in about a 1/2 tbs more of garlic and i didn't have a lot of ginger so maybe I only put in 1.5 tbs of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was REALLY good. I used about 1 1/2 T. of fresh grated ginger. The amount listed, as others have noted, must be a typo. Everything else I followed exactly. It was exceptional. Everyone loved it. I cooked the beef in peanut oil as another review suggested. It was fairly crispy outside and tender inside. The sauce was perfect. I think this would make a great appetizer, too, served with toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Very delicious, and pretty forgiving, ingredients-wise. My husband didn't think the beef needed the cornstarch. I'm wont to agree with him. Next time we'll just brown it in the pan, sans cornstarch. The sauce was great, but I wasn't able to use every ingredient exactly. We didn't have any rice vinegar so I just used white vinegar, which I didn't realize would be much stronger. So it gave the dish a stronger flavor. Not necessarily a bad thing, but next time I'd like to try it with rice vinegar (after I get to the store). I also had to use powdered ginger, so I cut the amount down to about 1 tsp or so. I didn't bother sautéing anything other than the meat; I just dumped all the sauce ingredients in, together. After letting it boil for a while, I added a little cornstarch/water slurry to help speed up the thickening (my kids and I were hungry). If it were just me, I might add some red pepper flake, too, like they sometimes do in the Chinese restaurants. I'd like to try the sauce over chicken. My husband was very impressed with how it turned out, which is really saying something, because he's my toughest critic when it comes to food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Too much ginger or citrus. The oil also needs to stay very hot throughout or the breading looks soggy. Maybe I should try it again, but it seemed like a lot of work for not a lot of flavor payoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
There were no left overs among my very picky kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Harrison, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Made this the other nite and really liked it. The only thing we thought was a bit overpowering, was the orange zest. As another viewer stated, we did add red pepper flakes and only had oj, not frozen concentrate. We like it spicy! It's a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States