Crispy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I thought this was very good. but to the others out there criticizing recipes on this site, cant criticize accurately if you change the original recipe. makes no sense to say its bad or wasnt very good, if you dont first try it the way its supposed to be, because it might have been your changes that made it worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
627 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsey0122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
The sauce gets 10 stars! Double it! It is amazing, just like the local take out place, even better because I know the quality of the ingredients. I have made this recipe as is, BUT I always reduce the ginger, that has to be a typo. I've also added 2 T orange marmalade and cut the vinegar a bit, 1 t sesame oil, 1/2 a teaspoon of Siracha Hot Chili Sauce. Doing so makes the sauce over the top!! I've also just made the sauce alone to add to other stir fry's as substituting the beef for chicken breasts, even tofu nuggets. I have learned that to prevent to much cornstarch from falling into the oil, let the cornstarch covered meat slices rest 10 minutes, then place meat in a pasta colander and shake over the sink, then fry the meat, QUICKLY.. comes out perfect every time. Then serve topped with a sprinkle of green onion and sesame seeds. In fact, I often just serve this with garlic green beans an Jasmine rice, rather than the broccoli. When making your Jasmine rice, saute 1/4 cup of rice in 1 Tablespoon hot oil until golden brown, then add the remaining rice and water to boil, gives a great nutty flavor to boring white rice. Also, "Fried Rice with Cilantro" from this site is also great with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
337 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Sauce is what makes it great. Like others, we altered it by: using 1/3 cup orange juice instead of concentrate *and* stirfrying batches with only 1 Tbs of peanut oil each time. Cuts down on calories and left the meat tender and glossy. Pretty authentic tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I'd have to say that this was the closest you could get to 'authentic' Chinese restaurant food. I followed the suggestion of others and reduced the sugar by half, doubled the sauce and left the beef strips sit with the corn starch on them for 10 min. The only thing missing was 'crispy' beef - I let the oil get hot, I tried to not overcook the strips and sliced them as thin as possible.They just were not really crispy. Could it be the oil I used - canola? Nevertheless, the flavour and tenderness were perfect. On sticky white rice - I was in heaven. Prep time took aprox 90 min. Highly recommended. March 10' tried it again - same result, almost all of the starch came off the meat into the hot oil - doesn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I made this dish for my mom's birthday and it was a hit. I made a few changes that were simple and easy. In my wok I cooked a medley of frozen veggies, fresh onion, garlic, ginger, and bean spouts. When that was done I added olive oil to the hot wok and cooked the meat. I bought the already sliced "stir fry" beef which proved to be a time saver. After the beef was done I put all the soy sauce mixture in the pan and cooked it until it started to thicken, then I added the beef back in. My family loved it and there were arguments over who got to keep the leftovers. Thanks so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINGMING

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Turned out fantastic. I did as others suggested and doubled the sauce while cutting the sugar in half. I also omitted the orange peel as it really didn't need it. Next time I will reduce the vinegar by 25% and use mixed OJ to replace the 25% vinegar omission. Really very good. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is a very good recipe. The first time I felt the beef was very bland, but once it was added to the orange sauce it was perfect. The second time I fried the beef with flour instead of corn starch and I thought the beef was even better. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I added only 1 TBS of ginger, and this was delicous! My husband enjoyed it too. As other's have noted, cutting back on the ginger keeps it from overpowering the meat. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
This recipe got mixed reviews in my household as well. My fiance loved it, but I only thought it was pretty good. I didn't like the cornstarch-coated fried beef at ALL, so instead I mixed 1 tablespoon of corn starch with 1 tablespoon of soy sauce (for 1lb of meat), tossed the beef in that, and then seared the meat in some olive oil on medium-high to high heat. I seasoned it with just a little pepper and a dash of salt. (not too much, since I used soy sauce on it). This really locked in the juices. I also added an onion, chopped, a green pepper, chopped, some chives, coarsely chopped, and a dash of red pepper flakes. Remember to double the sauce if you're making 1.5lbs of meat. If you're only making 1lb, it's fine as is. Not a bad recipe at all, and definitely one I'll make again (have made it three times so far), but it isn't the best I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATALIESHD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This was quite good. Very quick and easy to prepare. It helps to partially freeze the beef before cutting it into strips. The only change I made to the recipe was that I went ahead and added an entire bag of the pre-cut broccoli instead of just 8 florets as garnish. We'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States