Crispy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Very delicious, and pretty forgiving, ingredients-wise. My husband didn't think the beef needed the cornstarch. I'm wont to agree with him. Next time we'll just brown it in the pan, sans cornstarch. The sauce was great, but I wasn't able to use every ingredient exactly. We didn't have any rice vinegar so I just used white vinegar, which I didn't realize would be much stronger. So it gave the dish a stronger flavor. Not necessarily a bad thing, but next time I'd like to try it with rice vinegar (after I get to the store). I also had to use powdered ginger, so I cut the amount down to about 1 tsp or so. I didn't bother sautéing anything other than the meat; I just dumped all the sauce ingredients in, together. After letting it boil for a while, I added a little cornstarch/water slurry to help speed up the thickening (my kids and I were hungry). If it were just me, I might add some red pepper flake, too, like they sometimes do in the Chinese restaurants. I'd like to try the sauce over chicken. My husband was very impressed with how it turned out, which is really saying something, because he's my toughest critic when it comes to food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Too much ginger or citrus. The oil also needs to stay very hot throughout or the breading looks soggy. Maybe I should try it again, but it seemed like a lot of work for not a lot of flavor payoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
There were no left overs among my very picky kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Harrison, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Made this the other nite and really liked it. The only thing we thought was a bit overpowering, was the orange zest. As another viewer stated, we did add red pepper flakes and only had oj, not frozen concentrate. We like it spicy! It's a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
We loved it. I wanted to use venison instead of beef, so I made two batches of the sauce, one to marinate the venison in and one to use as the recipe calls for. I did everything else exactly as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I loved this recipe but my daughter thought it was too sweet will cut back on sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keyna lockhart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Carole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
My goodness I was not quite sure how this would go because I could not find the right cut of meat, I used a round cut in cubes it was so good I could not stop raving about it my kids love it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Flavor was there, the sauce was wonderful (definitely double it though). My beef didn't end up very crispy though, but I think that's just user error and next time I"ll be frying the beef for longer. I added in a bunch of other veggies and it definitely satisfied my craving for asian food. Even my extremely picky eater husband loved it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Guirao

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States