Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Really good with a few changes. I used a ratio of 1 cup leftover mashed potatoes: 1 egg and used fresh chives from my garden since they were ready to be snipped. Added the garlic but skipped the Italian seasoning. I stirred in 1 heaping Tblsp flour to add texture. The pancakes kept their shape well and were easy to flip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
463 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Oh so yummy. I ate them with sunnyside up eggs. What a nice change from hashbrowns. I will be making these often. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I think this would be a great recipe for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
perfect!! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I made this recipe and instead of italian seasoning added dill, horseradish and parmesan. It was much easier to form the patties by hand, I found that the spatula made a big mess of them. I had to cook them about 8-10 minutes each side before flipping. They were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I too adapted the recipe with 2 eggs, 1/2 cup flour and shredded parmesan. I let it rest in the fridge for some time it was still very sticky so I rolled the scoops of potato in the parmesan, then patted them down before placing them in the oil. I ran out of cheese before I ran out of potato, so for the rest I scooped the potato with a cookie dough scoop and plooped them straight into the oil. As they cooked a bit, I lightly pressed pressed them into a thicker patty....The family LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYMAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Great post-Thanksgiving way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. I followed the advice of gapch1026 and added scallions and flour as well as chopped garlic. Came out great and was easy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
really liked this recipe- very much like the kind my mother used to make- my mix was a very thin so I added about 1 T flour to dry out. Had to 2 hand flip so they wouldn't break, but once flipped, they held up nicely.Great crispy, crunchy outside to them. My father and I just ate 1/2 the batch, and kids will be home from school to finish the rest. Thank you so much for the recipe, I have been trying different one's and this was the best by far. ( first kid's response was to finish up the rest of that batch) Off to the kitchen to make more for the other children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Great use for leftover mashed potatoes. My husband ate these and he does not care for mashed potatoes. He said "you can make these again" so, it is a keeper for us. I followed the ingredients and instructions with no changes made. Thanks for the new side dish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Excellent recipe! As others, I added my own variation of ingredients - bacon bits, shredded cheddar cheese, diced onions and a tablespoon of flour to help hold them together. Definitely the "trick" is to cook them covered on medium heat for 8 minutes on each side. At first I thought this was too long and tried to flip the first batch after four minutes. Big mistake as they fell apart. When I did the second batch as the recipe directed at 8 minutes - they were perfect. I'll definitely be making these using my leftover mashed potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States