Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Did not use Italian seasoning but added a little chopped onion, salt and pepper. These are really good, but must watch closely to avoid burning. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I made these last night and added bacon, onions, and cheddar cheese to the mix and garnished with sour cream and chives...They were FANTASTIC! They were all eaten up and my kids were BEGGING me to make more. This will be a frequent dish at our dinner table ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I have made these for years. I raised 7 kids on them and they all loved them. We used more "smashed" potatoes than mashed. I prefer to have bits of potatoes in them. I have always added flour to these to help keep them together. Add a tablespoon at a time. Just until they have a "sticky" texture. I drop by tablespoon into the pan and they seems to "flatten" out by themselves. The trick really is to cook them until the one side is really browned, 8 to 10 minutes before turning. Otherwise they will fall apart. You can add all sorts of ingredients to these. Garlic, bacon bits, onion and cheese are our favorites. Sage is good in these too. We have these for breakfast as well as lunch or dinner. These take a little time to make, but are oh so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2cook500

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Excellent, my whole family liked it. I followed the suggestions of previous reviewers and used the 1 c./1 egg ratio. I added 1/4 cup minced onion and 1 tsp Tastefully Simple's Garlic Garlic. Also I used a blender to combine everything. I served them with cinnamon applesauce and they were a big hit. NOTE: I have a small griddle and so could only fry four at a time, so the actual cook time was a little longer for me for the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wadena, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is a great recipe for utilising leftover mashed potatoes! I made some modifications to dial up on flavour. I added more herbs and chili powder. When I added the egg, the mixture became very wet and difficult to handle so I added a tablespoon of cornstarch and did 2 experiments. 1) Coated the mixture with breadcrumbs before frying them while 2) I mixed the breadcrumbs in before frying them. Option 2 turned out wonderful. I pan fried them for 9-10 minutes and it was so crispy and flavourful. On my stove top, at 8 minutes, it still wasn't crispy enough. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diadiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I used two-day-old mashed red potatoes that had the skins left in, one egg, a heaping tablespoon of flour, green onions from the garden & some salt & pepper. It turned out to make five pancakes but I could only cook three on the first go around because my skillet wasn't large enough for all of them. The first three turned out great & we couldn't eat them fast enough. The last two burnt badly with those time constraints. I'm not sure if something happened to the oil or if it was because I left my boyfriend to watch them. I can't wait to make mashed potatoes again just so I can have these the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
family didn't care for:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
pretty good. burned alittle but not scorched!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 0416beauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Excellent recipe! As others, I added my own variation of ingredients - bacon bits, shredded cheddar cheese, diced onions and a tablespoon of flour to help hold them together. Definitely the "trick" is to cook them covered on medium heat for 8 minutes on each side. At first I thought this was too long and tried to flip the first batch after four minutes. Big mistake as they fell apart. When I did the second batch as the recipe directed at 8 minutes - they were perfect. I'll definitely be making these using my leftover mashed potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
These were pretty good! I've been looking for a good mashed potato pancake for a few years now. I added parm cheese to the potatoes, and a little bit of flour, and also rolled them in a mix of parm cheese and flour before frying them. They fried up nicely, and weren't too sticky after I added the flour. All that I would add is a little bit of salt...even though I generously salt my mashed potatoes, I would add a little bit of salt to the 'dough' next time. But they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shafersgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States