Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
These reminded me of the ones my Grandma used to make. I used 1 cup leftover loaded mashed potatoes (bacon, cheese, and sour cream) with a tbls of whole wheat flour, 1 egg, and onion powder. I used margarine instead of flour. They turned out great! My four year old, who can be picky, loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Followed to the T and the oil was soaked up and the taters did brown but didnt stick together. boo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meepandsnooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Not the outstanding flavor of the potato cakes I order at the local diner, but easy enough so I might make again. Loved the crispy edges! I added parsley and chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I really liked this recipe as it was a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. It is also very easy to double (or triple!). The only change I made was adding a quarter cup of flour and an egg for each cup of mashed potatoes. I then fried them in a frying pan with oil and left them until the bottoms were brown and flipped them carefully. Once they were cooked on both sides they held together well and tasted even better the next day reheated for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made 'em exactly as written. Good and simple base recipe for leftovers. Now I'll make them my own by adding some different seasoning, green onions, some cheese, perhaps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Great use of leftover mashed potatoes. Add one egg to leftover potatoes and then fry in pan on high heat for five minutes per side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.M.Grant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These were pretty tasty, but I found the cooking instructions (medium-high for 8 minutes per side) to be way too much. I ended up turning the stove down to 5 out of 10, and cooking maybe 6 minutes per side, and they were still much darker than what's in the picture. Other than that, I made it according to the recipe as best I could. We didn't have Italian seasoning, so I added some salt, pepper, basil and oregano, plus some fresh minced onion. The taste was good but I'll definitely cook at a lower temperature next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These were just ok. Not much flavor (even after I added seasonings). Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Growing up, I remember my friends' moms making these. My mom never did and I was always curious about them. At Hubs' request, we were about to eat leftover Thanksgiving mashed potatoes for supper tonight for the umpteenth time and I absolutely refused...so he got these as a surprise with his breakfast this morning! I remember my friends' moms adding egg, but I also remember them adding a little flour and finely chopped onion, so that's what I did. (Let me tell you, these memories go back a LOT of years, so that tells you these mashed potato patties have been around a looooong time) I have to admit the idea of Italian seasoning in these wasn't moving me, so I added some Penzey's Buttermilk Ranch Seasoning instead (I'll bet Hidden Valley Buttermilk Ranch Seasoning would be excellent too) These are mashed potatoes after all, and as such are obviously mushy, so I made certain not to turn the patties too soon. Hubs had never heard of these before but loved 'em. I thought they were pretty darned good too, 'tho I found they require a lot of seasoning. They were indeed crispy on the outside, and mashed potato-y on the inside. It was an excellent way to make use of the last of the Thanksgiving mashed potates and were a perfect complement to our scrambled egg Sunday morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
These were very tasty. The only thing I will change next time is to use less italian seasoning if any at all. Other than that..... YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States