Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These were easy to put together and harder to cook. I turned down the heat to 3.5. The potatoes soak up all the oil so mine stuck a little on the other side. I added in cheddar cheese, red onion and 2 slices of Bacon. Topped with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I thought these were very tasty, yet they fell apart when I rotated them! Maybe I need to try a little more flour, but otherwise, YUM!!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
My mom used to make these with left over mashed potatoes when I was young, and I loved them! Then my 2 little brothers came along and we never really had leftover potatoes again. I make these now for my husband and I. Really takes me back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
These are sooooo yummy! I changed it a little bit, & I think the recipe as is would be a little bland, but I added garlic powder, onion powder, salt & pepper, and a little parm cheese. Faaaaaantastic!! I'm making them right now & so far the second they hit the serving plate they're gone LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmStan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. I used garlic in place of garlic powder and added in some chopped chives. Lastly I seasoned the mashed potatoes with a little hawaiian salt and black pepper, to taste. I used 1T of butter instead of oil to cook the potatoe pancakes. I shaped the pancakes a little more thick, not flat. I fried them up close to 8 minutes. When the bottoms were crispy and brown, I gently flipped them over to cook the other side for another 8 minutes. They were indeed crispy on the outside and soft on the insides. These complemented our, "Extreme Veggie Scrambled Eggs," also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
delicious and easy. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Delicious. I skipped the italian seasoning as i had none, but this was to be our whole meal so I added green onions, parmesan cheese, and fried bacon chunks. I should have added some flour as others commented since they were a bit mushy, but instead I fried them for longer than 8 minutes, until I could safely flip them. Also would have helped to have less on my pan. Turned out great and will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Paul, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Very good recipe. I used fresh chives and left out the dried seasonings. We will definately make this again and try different herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is a very good recipe, however if you want to try something different add the following: Sauteed onions (mix into potato mixture) fry as usual. Or.. crumbled cooked bacon about 1/2 cup and 1/2 cheese grated and green onions chopped. Mix this into potato mixture, additional milk may be needed to keep the patties together. When finished cooking, add a dollop of sourcream to the top and dig in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eatonville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I wasn't sure what to expect with these, after reading the mixed reviews. I didn't change any of the ingredients but I did follow several other reviewers advice on how to cook them. I mixed these up and then let sit in the fridge for an hour, I used a tablespoon to put the mixture in the pan and then flattened with the back of a fork. Finally I made very sure to let them cook for 8 minutes each side as many reviewers suggest. I had no trouble turning them and they came out perfectly. My daughter and husband enjoyed these as is but we're all agreed if I make these again, we'll jazz them up with some chives and cheese. Thanks for the recipe Mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States