Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These were easy to put together and harder to cook. I turned down the heat to 3.5. The potatoes soak up all the oil so mine stuck a little on the other side. I added in cheddar cheese, red onion and 2 slices of Bacon. Topped with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I thought these were very tasty, yet they fell apart when I rotated them! Maybe I need to try a little more flour, but otherwise, YUM!!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
My mom used to make these with left over mashed potatoes when I was young, and I loved them! Then my 2 little brothers came along and we never really had leftover potatoes again. I make these now for my husband and I. Really takes me back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
These are sooooo yummy! I changed it a little bit, & I think the recipe as is would be a little bland, but I added garlic powder, onion powder, salt & pepper, and a little parm cheese. Faaaaaantastic!! I'm making them right now & so far the second they hit the serving plate they're gone LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmStan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. I used garlic in place of garlic powder and added in some chopped chives. Lastly I seasoned the mashed potatoes with a little hawaiian salt and black pepper, to taste. I used 1T of butter instead of oil to cook the potatoe pancakes. I shaped the pancakes a little more thick, not flat. I fried them up close to 8 minutes. When the bottoms were crispy and brown, I gently flipped them over to cook the other side for another 8 minutes. They were indeed crispy on the outside and soft on the insides. These complemented our, "Extreme Veggie Scrambled Eggs," also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
delicious and easy. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Delicious. I skipped the italian seasoning as i had none, but this was to be our whole meal so I added green onions, parmesan cheese, and fried bacon chunks. I should have added some flour as others commented since they were a bit mushy, but instead I fried them for longer than 8 minutes, until I could safely flip them. Also would have helped to have less on my pan. Turned out great and will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Paul, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Very good recipe. I used fresh chives and left out the dried seasonings. We will definately make this again and try different herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is a very good recipe, however if you want to try something different add the following: Sauteed onions (mix into potato mixture) fry as usual. Or.. crumbled cooked bacon about 1/2 cup and 1/2 cheese grated and green onions chopped. Mix this into potato mixture, additional milk may be needed to keep the patties together. When finished cooking, add a dollop of sourcream to the top and dig in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eatonville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I wasn't sure what to expect with these, after reading the mixed reviews. I didn't change any of the ingredients but I did follow several other reviewers advice on how to cook them. I mixed these up and then let sit in the fridge for an hour, I used a tablespoon to put the mixture in the pan and then flattened with the back of a fork. Finally I made very sure to let them cook for 8 minutes each side as many reviewers suggest. I had no trouble turning them and they came out perfectly. My daughter and husband enjoyed these as is but we're all agreed if I make these again, we'll jazz them up with some chives and cheese. Thanks for the recipe Mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States