Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Great post-Thanksgiving way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. I followed the advice of gapch1026 and added scallions and flour as well as chopped garlic. Came out great and was easy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
sorry this was not my thing,i made then to the letter other then adding a Tbl.spoon of flour or 2 then making then flat as i could. i think it was the texture.to soft in the center.Oh well maybe i will try again and tweek it some to suit my taste.thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Add a teaspoon of flour to the mix to help hold the cakes together. We add diced onions, green bell peppers along with crumbled bacon (cooked already of course). We just use salt/pepper/garlic to season it- the bacon adds flavor as well. You can add a little shredded cheddar cheese to the mix as well. My family has made these with breakfast since I was wee kiddo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheena
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I thought these were pretty good. Its nice to do something with leftover mashed potatos...they usually get thrown out at my house. But I would change a few things next time 1) I would make the potato cakes really thin, I made them too thick and they didnt get as crisp as I wanted, and 2) maybe I would add some green onion for flavor and color. Other than that they were pretty good =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Not bad for something to use up mashed potatoes, but I wasn't extremely thrilled with it. Even with the seasonings I thought they were kind of bland. But it did use up the remainder of our mashed potatoes, so that's good! Bf says his grandmother makes these without seasonings and he used to eat them with ketchup. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
i just made these added flour and garlic salt instead of powder.....2 eggs omg they were very good....dip in ranch yummy!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Oh so yummy. I ate them with sunnyside up eggs. What a nice change from hashbrowns. I will be making these often. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
these turned out nice with the addition of 1 tablespoon of flour. made them with garlic mashed potatoes. be sure to cook them for eight minutes each side so they don't fall apart. for fun, I added shredded cabbage (from bagged coleslaw mix) and some minced green onion to the second batch, they turned out very yummy. my english husband said, 'you just made bubble-and-squeak'! thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhymeswith16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I too adapted the recipe with 2 eggs, 1/2 cup flour and shredded parmesan. I let it rest in the fridge for some time it was still very sticky so I rolled the scoops of potato in the parmesan, then patted them down before placing them in the oil. I ran out of cheese before I ran out of potato, so for the rest I scooped the potato with a cookie dough scoop and plooped them straight into the oil. As they cooked a bit, I lightly pressed pressed them into a thicker patty....The family LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYMAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I made this recipe and instead of italian seasoning added dill, horseradish and parmesan. It was much easier to form the patties by hand, I found that the spatula made a big mess of them. I had to cook them about 8-10 minutes each side before flipping. They were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States