Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Great way to use up left over mashed potatoes. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I "loaded up" the leftovers...so good!! Now to keep enough leftover mashed potatoes everytime to make these again...easier said than done in my house! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I have never made potato pancakes before.. what a yummy way to use leftover mashed potatoes! I can't wait for more leftovers, I have a ton of ingredient ideas! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Good use of leftover mashed potatoes. I fried mine in bacon fat in a cast iron skillet. Also I rolled them into balls then dipped in bisquick before putting them into the pan and flattening them. Cooking them on medium high for 7 minutes burnt them on my electric stove though. Medium heat worked for me. I think I like potato pancakes with shredded potatoes more, but it's nice to have a use for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I love these!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These were delicious! I used 2 cups cold mashed potatoes and 2 eggs, plus 2 TBS flour per previous reviews. Italian seasoning didn't seem to fit with fried mashed potatoes? So I added finely minced garlic and green onion, crumbled cooked bacon, a handful of shredded cheese, salt, pepper and cayenne. My pancakes were essentially fully-loaded baked potatoes fried in a pan. Not something we will eat very often! I cooked mine in the leftover bacon grease. I turned the stove up to medium high to get the oil nice and hot and dropped them in by the spoonful and using the greased spatula I quickly shaped them in the pan and pressed down lightly to flatten to 1/2 - 3/4 inch thick. Then, turn the heat down to medium and leave them alone for eight minute. Gently flip and cook eight more minutes. I had no trouble keeping them together once they formed a nice crust. My husband inhaled them, the only problem is I didn't have more mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Delicious! I added some Italian breadcrumbs to mine and I loved them...so easy and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this tonight with some very minor tweaks and they were delicious. I wouldn't do 8 minutes however. It was only about 3-4 minutes per side for me at low-medium heat in a cast iron skillet with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Didnt stay together very well but tasted delish. Added jalapenos, shredded ched, bacon and red onion for a chunky potato cake : D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have made potato cakes before and had them be way too soft. A lot has to do with the condition of your mashed potatoes when you begin. If your potatoes are on the wetter side, then as others have suggested here, its a good idea to add some Italian seasoned bread crumbs. I used 2 cups of mashed - I had made sour cream and chive mashed potatoes. They had sat in the fridge overnight so they were not super moist, but moister than I wanted if I were to add the egg for binding. I added 1/4 cup bread crumbs along with some of the garlic powder and skipped the Italian seasoning since it was in the crumbs. Next time I might add some extra though as it wasn't as flavorful as I would have liked. I made these into potato bites/small plate/appy sized. I used a small cookie scoop and dropped the ball onto a plate coated with Italian bread crumbs. I coated the ball with crumbs and flattened the cake out some. Served with a small dollop of sour cream, some crispy bacon and fresh chopped chives. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States