Crispy Marshmallow Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I was worried that these would be a pain to make (and clean up after), but they were surprisingly easy and not messy. I used the assembly line method. I used the toasted coconut marshmallows and cut them in half. It looked like they were too small, but the caramel and rice crispies add a lot - they still turned out being only slightly smaller than a golf ball. I kept the marshmallows in the freezer, pulling them out in batches because they thawed fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Quite messy, but it was well worth it! Very addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
the kids loved it, but was very messy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ringling, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Fruger, thank you. I didn't have to freeze marshmallows. I made 2 10 ounce bags. With enough carmel mixture left to add to the left over rice cereal. The boys took care of that part! I made this exactly as you submitted. I thought the tongs worked very well. Hardly any mess to it. Just what my packages needed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLACKVELVETRAV
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I was so tired of cookies that this was a great recipe to stumble upon. I used real butter and mixed rice crispy cereal (1/2 chocolate and 1/2 regular). I also did the assembly line right at the stove and kept the butter, caramel, milk mixture on a low warm while I worked on a double batch. We used metal meat kabob sticks and they were the perfect length for easy dipping and rolling. The kids loved helping with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLACKVELVETRAV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
My Grandmother made these for years every Christmas and it was a family favorite. She called them "Haystacks" though. While it certainly can be messy, there are tricks which other reviewers have offered which work well. I've used skewers, toothpics and the tongs and they've all worked relatively well. The outcome is what everyone enjoys the most.. I don't think the sticky process of making them takes away from the popularity and quality of these treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
These are good, except they were kind of messy when I was making them. I'll try again. Also, had to reheat the caramel mixture, because it was starting to get hard to dip the marshmallows. Maybe I was just slow at dipping. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
These were awesome!! Fabulous for S'mores! I used the tip from a previous reviewer, and froze the marshmallows before dipping. I admit, I rolled them in Cocoa Krispies because I'm a chocoholic. I bet these would be good for a kids' party with something colorful like Fruity Pebbles... Next time I plan to try toasted coconut. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCORTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Very yummy recipe. This was pretty easy to do, but I had to get into the groove. The first few made a mess, but then I decided to do the toothpick idea and that worked out well! All I had was Rice Chex, so I put some in a big baggie and mashed them up a bit and dipped the coated marshmellows in that. Oh boy were they delicious! I also dipped some in chopped pecans. I think next time I'll throw some toasted coconut into my Chex. I also froze the marshmallows to make the dipping easier. After dipping ALOT, I decided to throw the remainder of the marshmallows into the caramel, stir, and add a bunch of the Chex cereal I hadn't crushed up. Just like rice crispy treats, I stirred this all up and pressed into a buttered pan. These are a big hit too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
These are so delicious and addictive they are dangerous! The caramel is awesome and would be good as an ice cream topping if you thinned it with a little milk or cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States