Crispy Marshmallow Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I would use just 1/2 cup (one stick) of salted butter in this recipe. Hint: make a double broiler by filling one medium saucepan 1/2 full of water. Place a *slightly* smaller saucepan on top. Boil water on high or and reduce to medium when water comes to a boil. To make this a less-messy project: Open your bag of marshmallows and place them in a bowl to the right of the dbl-broiler. Place your krispies in a large bowl to the left of the broiler. Place your wax sheet to the left of the krispies, and pick the marshmallows up with a fork, dip in sauce, then roll the caramel around the marshmallow to drip off the excess, roll in krispies, and with your pointer finger, push the marshmallow off of the fork from the bottom. let it cool on the sheet then re-arrange them on a platter once they have cooled. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAILORMOON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
These were great! I took the advice of some previous reviews. I used the tooth pick idea, which worked great. And I just used about a third stick of margaring and a half can of sweetend condensed milk. I think if you omitted the margaring and the milk completely the caramel alone would be to thick. Also, next time I make these I will definitly freeze the marshmallows for an hour first. They melt quickly in the hot caramel mixture. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I have made these for 6 years in a row now at Christmas time. Some variations I have tried as there is so much carmel left, I roll the marshallows dipped in carmel in nuts (any kind) these are a delightful variation. This carmel is great for apple dip also. I have freezed this before and it keeps for about 2 months, careful when reheating as it scorches so very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hawarden, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I made these for a treat at a big family dinner. They disappeared! I used tongs to dip the marshmallows in the caramel and it wasn't messy at all. I fill a large bowl with the rice krispies, then I just drop the marshmallows into it, about 4 or 5 at a time, then I cover them and let them sit a minute. I've made these a few times, very easy, quick, and not messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
These were good right after I made them, but within an hour or so the rice crispies were soggy. Didn't care too much for them then! Definitely for a sweet tooth as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Not bad. I had only half the marshmallows, and half the caramels.. (thanks to husband and son!) but halved was enough to satisfy us. These are VERY sweet.WOW. But really easy and gooey to make. Nice to make in hot weather.. the only thing on was my stove.. for a few minutes... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Great party recipe! I added coconut and chopped walnuts, they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
These are delicious! My mom has made them since I was a kid, but used Mackintosh toffee which has a nut warning. Was glad to find this recipe since my son is allergic and Kraft caramels are nut free. Did not notice a taste or texture difference at all. Tried to leave out the margarine as suggested by others but it set up too quickly and was hard to roll the marshmallows in so I added it. Fussy little treats to make but worth it! Used holiday rice krispies for a festive touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Very yummy recipe. This was pretty easy to do, but I had to get into the groove. The first few made a mess, but then I decided to do the toothpick idea and that worked out well! All I had was Rice Chex, so I put some in a big baggie and mashed them up a bit and dipped the coated marshmellows in that. Oh boy were they delicious! I also dipped some in chopped pecans. I think next time I'll throw some toasted coconut into my Chex. I also froze the marshmallows to make the dipping easier. After dipping ALOT, I decided to throw the remainder of the marshmallows into the caramel, stir, and add a bunch of the Chex cereal I hadn't crushed up. Just like rice crispy treats, I stirred this all up and pressed into a buttered pan. These are a big hit too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
These are wonderful. I used scewers like the review said. That was also how i dipped the marshmallow in the carmel. My fingers never got sticky. Awesome idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States