Crispy Marshmallow Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I made these for a treat at a big family dinner. They disappeared! I used tongs to dip the marshmallows in the caramel and it wasn't messy at all. I fill a large bowl with the rice krispies, then I just drop the marshmallows into it, about 4 or 5 at a time, then I cover them and let them sit a minute. I've made these a few times, very easy, quick, and not messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I prefer this recipe with crushed Corn Flakes or Frosted Flakes. Nice little treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I would use just 1/2 cup (one stick) of salted butter in this recipe. Hint: make a double broiler by filling one medium saucepan 1/2 full of water. Place a *slightly* smaller saucepan on top. Boil water on high or and reduce to medium when water comes to a boil. To make this a less-messy project: Open your bag of marshmallows and place them in a bowl to the right of the dbl-broiler. Place your krispies in a large bowl to the left of the broiler. Place your wax sheet to the left of the krispies, and pick the marshmallows up with a fork, dip in sauce, then roll the caramel around the marshmallow to drip off the excess, roll in krispies, and with your pointer finger, push the marshmallow off of the fork from the bottom. let it cool on the sheet then re-arrange them on a platter once they have cooled. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAILORMOON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
These were good right after I made them, but within an hour or so the rice crispies were soggy. Didn't care too much for them then! Definitely for a sweet tooth as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I had a hell of time making this recipe. Although this recipe was tasty, the resulted mess farly outweighs the tastfulness. The recipe itself is simple but make sure to have a vaccum around because you will surely need it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
I made these last night because my friend had made them for Christmas and I loved them. Her recipe was a little different. She doesn't add butter and to tell you the truth, I couldn't tell the difference. I stopped buying margarine years ago. It's all chemicals. My friend cuts her marshmallows in 1/2 and freezes them for about 1/2 hr so it's easier to dip them. I found using the whole marshmallow makes them too huge so I did cut them with kitchen scissors and used skewers to dip them. Next time, I may leave out the butter. They are time consuming though unless you have people helping you. I'm not sure who can do them in 20 minutes. After doing 2 trays, I gave up, threw a few marshmallows in the caramel, melted them, threw in some krispies and pressed them in a pan for a big krispie treat. My husband got a good chuckle out of that. I'm tempted to try that toasted coconut idea. Sounds yummy! Eat up! The diet starts tomorrow! Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This recipe was excellent! My family loved them! I used the mini bamboo screwers and it wasn't messy AT ALL! I also rolled half of them in toasted coconut, my hubby and his mom LOVE coconut and they really enjoyed this varriation. Highly recommended recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Has anyone tried to use the microwave instead of the double-boiler step? Thanks in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
These are messy to make but worth it!! I love to freeze them and eat them cold. So simple so divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
YUM! Who knew marshmallows could taste so good! Better than regular crispy bars. These have a creamy carmel flavor. As for the mess, other than some loose cereal, everything went into the dish washer and was easy to clean up after. Kids had a ball rolling the carmeled marshmallows around in the cereal. I took these to bible study last night and they were a hit. People who did not care for marshmallows had seconds and thirds. The recipe makes A LOT and so I packaged them two to a small snack ziplock bag and sent them to school in the kids lunches. Thanks for the recipe. But we will not be just making these at Christmas, this will be an all year threat in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States