Crispy Marshmallow Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Great recipe, and not too bad to prepare if you're organized. While the caramels and condensed milk were melting (I omitted the butter), I poked each marshmallow onto a toothpick. I agree with a previous review that suggested cutting them in half. The toothpicks were handy for dipping in the caramels and crispies, and for eating them later. I might omit the condensed milk next time and just use the caramels by themselves, as they were very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I made these for a treat at a big family dinner. They disappeared! I used tongs to dip the marshmallows in the caramel and it wasn't messy at all. I fill a large bowl with the rice krispies, then I just drop the marshmallows into it, about 4 or 5 at a time, then I cover them and let them sit a minute. I've made these a few times, very easy, quick, and not messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I prefer this recipe with crushed Corn Flakes or Frosted Flakes. Nice little treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I would use just 1/2 cup (one stick) of salted butter in this recipe. Hint: make a double broiler by filling one medium saucepan 1/2 full of water. Place a *slightly* smaller saucepan on top. Boil water on high or and reduce to medium when water comes to a boil. To make this a less-messy project: Open your bag of marshmallows and place them in a bowl to the right of the dbl-broiler. Place your krispies in a large bowl to the left of the broiler. Place your wax sheet to the left of the krispies, and pick the marshmallows up with a fork, dip in sauce, then roll the caramel around the marshmallow to drip off the excess, roll in krispies, and with your pointer finger, push the marshmallow off of the fork from the bottom. let it cool on the sheet then re-arrange them on a platter once they have cooled. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAILORMOON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
These were good right after I made them, but within an hour or so the rice crispies were soggy. Didn't care too much for them then! Definitely for a sweet tooth as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I had a hell of time making this recipe. Although this recipe was tasty, the resulted mess farly outweighs the tastfulness. The recipe itself is simple but make sure to have a vaccum around because you will surely need it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
I made these last night because my friend had made them for Christmas and I loved them. Her recipe was a little different. She doesn't add butter and to tell you the truth, I couldn't tell the difference. I stopped buying margarine years ago. It's all chemicals. My friend cuts her marshmallows in 1/2 and freezes them for about 1/2 hr so it's easier to dip them. I found using the whole marshmallow makes them too huge so I did cut them with kitchen scissors and used skewers to dip them. Next time, I may leave out the butter. They are time consuming though unless you have people helping you. I'm not sure who can do them in 20 minutes. After doing 2 trays, I gave up, threw a few marshmallows in the caramel, melted them, threw in some krispies and pressed them in a pan for a big krispie treat. My husband got a good chuckle out of that. I'm tempted to try that toasted coconut idea. Sounds yummy! Eat up! The diet starts tomorrow! Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This recipe was excellent! My family loved them! I used the mini bamboo screwers and it wasn't messy AT ALL! I also rolled half of them in toasted coconut, my hubby and his mom LOVE coconut and they really enjoyed this varriation. Highly recommended recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Has anyone tried to use the microwave instead of the double-boiler step? Thanks in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
These are messy to make but worth it!! I love to freeze them and eat them cold. So simple so divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States