Crispy Marshmallow Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I thought these were really good. I agree that dipping the marshmallows got a little tiring, maybe I wasn't motivated. I only did about half a package, but everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
These are fabulous! This is the first time I made them, next time, I will cut the marshmallows in half as they are quite large when rolled in rice cereal - I will also try partially freezing them. Rolling in nuts & maybe toasted coconut! Easy, I used 2 wood scewers and it was simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
These are delicious! My mom has made them since I was a kid, but used Mackintosh toffee which has a nut warning. Was glad to find this recipe since my son is allergic and Kraft caramels are nut free. Did not notice a taste or texture difference at all. Tried to leave out the margarine as suggested by others but it set up too quickly and was hard to roll the marshmallows in so I added it. Fussy little treats to make but worth it! Used holiday rice krispies for a festive touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I had some doubts about the taste in the begining, but it turned out very good. Easy to make, too. I made them with a class of preschoolers and they loved it! We did use a toothpick in each one to dip with, as suggested elsewhere. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
These were great! I took the advice of some previous reviews. I used the tooth pick idea, which worked great. And I just used about a third stick of margaring and a half can of sweetend condensed milk. I think if you omitted the margaring and the milk completely the caramel alone would be to thick. Also, next time I make these I will definitly freeze the marshmallows for an hour first. They melt quickly in the hot caramel mixture. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This reminds me of a recipe my grandma made when I was young. I did get lazy towards the end and just melted the marshmallows and made a rice crispy-type treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
this are incredible. A friend of mine has the same recipe and I made them last year! they are pretty sweet but if you put the marshmallow on a lollipop stick and wrap them in cellophane they make a great class party gift for the kids in the schools. I do however use two bars of mcintosh toffee and not the wrapped caramels. It just seems to have a better taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
These are very much like Rice Crispy Treats in taste but much messier to make. The taste is good but if you have small children or are not in the mood for a meesy clean-up I would stick with regular rice crispy treats. I have a six year old and I'm still trying to find all the rice bits he got everywhere...lol. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Great party recipe! I added coconut and chopped walnuts, they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Great recipe, and not too bad to prepare if you're organized. While the caramels and condensed milk were melting (I omitted the butter), I poked each marshmallow onto a toothpick. I agree with a previous review that suggested cutting them in half. The toothpicks were handy for dipping in the caramels and crispies, and for eating them later. I might omit the condensed milk next time and just use the caramels by themselves, as they were very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States