Crispy Kung Pao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Made this dish according to the recipe but would definitely make some adjustments. Cut the rice vinegar in 1/2 as it was very over powering. My husband suggested cutting the brown sugar in 1/2 as well but I was ok with that part. Also added some green peppers and fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This was okay, but I wouldn't make it again. It was rather bland and disappointing. After reading the reviews, I cut the rice vinegar down to 2 Tbsp and the cornstarch to 1 tsp (which was a good amount). I used slightly more ginger, green onion, and garlic than it called for, but it was still bland. The panko fried chicken was good (it always is!), but after dumping it into the sauce, even that lost a lot of its appeal. If I were to make it again (which I won't), I would probably add more brown sugar and would just pour the sauce over the top of the chicken at the table instead of combining them in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was okay but I guess I was expecting more. I took the advice of others and cut the vinegar down to 3 T. I didn't have rice vinegar so used white vinegar. I was hoping it would be a pretty reddish sauce but was dark brown, I suppose that's to be expected with the soy sauce. I also cut down the soy sauce so it wouldn't be too salty. My husband like it but doubt I'll make it again.l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I really ended up with a five stars dish after my modifications: I boiled my chicken and then chopped it up, threw it in the oil to brown along with sliced carrot and celery. I added the ginger and garlic after the meat had browned and veggies were to my liking as not to allow them to burn up. I cut the vinegar down to 2T but added some of chicken water (1/3 cup)along with the rest of the ingredients to make this more saucy; we served over white rice. The combination of the sweet, tangy and spicy made this awesome! I will continue to make this recipe this way! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Pretty Decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I thought this recipe was good however the sauce was way too thick. I would make again but make some adjustments in the amount of cornstarch used. I also agree with the other reviews in using less vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This recipe was great. I halved the vinegar and I thought it was great. I am a vinegar fan, though. 6 tbs. would definitely kill the dish. I loved the vinegar smell wafting as it cooked. I used red chili paste and a splash of chili oil as well. It was the best version of Kung Pao I've been able to find, but I only rated it a 4 because I am measuring it against my favorite version at a local restaurant. The corn starch it called for was the perfect amount. The only thin I would do different next time is throw the chicken in the sauce and toss to coat. It was hard to get the chicken coated well after pouring the sauce over it. Overall, great dish and pretty darn easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was a good recipe but I agree with the previous reviews that less vinegar is necessary than called for. We had it with ramen noodles and threw in some peas and carrots, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aroche1204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was the one of the saltiest dishes I have ever made, we could only eat 2 or 3 pieces of the chicken. We were extremely excited about this recipe and was very disappointed by the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Whoa this is spicy, but I like it. I oven fried my chicken instead of using oil. I also decreased the cornstarch to 1/2 tblsp since 1 tblsp seemed like too much. I think what I used was STILL too much so I will decrease next time. Yes, there will be a next time, but with some changes; decrease the cornstarch even more and maybe decrease the red pepper flakes (I like the original amount but not everyone likes stuff that spicy like me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States