Crispy Jalapeno Honey Chicken with Tomato-Corn Confetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I had high hopes for this recipe with the honey and jalapeno, but the biggest problem is that the coat mixture with the egg becomes too thick and doesn't stick to the chicken. It slides off in an unappetizing way that just doesn't seem healthy or pleasing to eat. When heated, the the properties of honey lose its sticky factor, and this doesn't help the situation. Taste-wise, it's ok, but overall disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
the only thing i would change is more honey and less old bay seasoning. maybe add some more of a different kind of seasoning, not sure what. i also cut the chicken into bite size pieces for easier cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffinyRae
Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
very good- warm up the confetti in a small pot before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Yum! Great recipe! Even my son, the picky eater, loved the chicken. I enjoyed both and so did my husband. I'll definitely be making this one again. The only changes I made was adding a tad more honey to the egg mixture and I used a whole can of corn, which was probably more than was called for in the recipe. I kept the heat just below med and the chicken browned up perfectly. Southwest style bbq beans made a great side with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
We thought this was very tasty and very easy. My husband will only eat tomatoes tentatively, though, and they were too much for him in this recipe. In the future I'll heat up the tomato-corn confetti and serve it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Very good ! Used 6 boneless, skinless thighs. Could have tripled the honey mixture tho as I didn't have enough to coat twice. The first that were coated twice were Great !!! Didn't make the tomato-corn confetti. Tomatoes are on a recall right now. Thanks for a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARYL4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is one of the best fried chicken recipes I have tried. It comes out perfect every time. The honey flavor is not very pronounced but that did not detract from the taste for me. You also have to monitor the heat a bit more closely since it tends to brown faster because of the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHARA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Great recipe. Added cilantro to the confetti. Next time I'll use lime instead of lemon. Would suggest that you pound chicken thinner so it will cook through quicker as the coating does get quite brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
My husband absolutely loved this! The only thing I did different was add a little extra jalapeno as he likes spicy foods. We are not good about eating leftovers, but the next day, he went straight for it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States