Crispy Herb Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This is a great dish!!! The family loved it!!! However, 2 things 1. When you melt the butter make sure you only dip one peice of chicken in the melted butter, don't put all the chicken into the melted butter the cold chicken will harden the butter. 2. Spray the aluminum foil with spray because the chicken will also stick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
585 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
What a yummy recipe! I have done this several times now, to the delight of the family for whom I cook. The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly (but doubled for a big family). It was good, but seemed to be missing something. Since then, I have always added some Italian Seasoning, Paprika, and bread crumbs to the dry mixture. This makes the right mixture for me, and still produces extremely good chicken. I usually pour any remaining dry mixture on top of the chicken before putting it in to bake. I usually make this with thighs and legs. This is a regular in my monthly menu for "Fried Chicken Friday" where I generally serve a different fried/oven baked chicken recipe each Friday. Also, I have never had a problem with mushy coating. There will always be a little mushiness because of the juices from the chicken cooking out, but it is usually minimal, and typical of oven baked and coated chicken. I would say it is best to always use foil instead of a greased pan. You don't have to spray the foil either, that will help reduce the moisture in the pan and keep the potato flakes from reconstituting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: California City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
What an incredible recipe!!! My father was on a chicken strike but no longer. He caught one whiff of this chicken and before he knew it, he was sucking the bones. I used 2 tablespoons of grated romano cheese and completed the 1/3 cup with parmesan cheese. I also added dried parsley (for apperance), dried basil(for flavor), black pepper(for kick) and paparika(for color). This recipe is a keeper. Now all I need is a tastey creamy pasta dish to go along with the chicken. David
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This is a great starting-point recipe! I added Italian seasoning, a tiny dash of poultry seasoning and a healthy pinch of dried rosemary - crush it in your palm before adding to the mix, which will release the flavor as well as saving someone from getting a giant pine needle stuck in their teeth! I sprinkled the leftover potato mixture over the top of the chicken pieces in the pan, which made for extra crispiness and flavor. I can't wait to try this with flavored potatoes as another reviewer mentioned. Super fast prep, and a tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This recipe is very similar to an "Oven fried chicken" recipe that I've been using for years. We enjoyed this very much. I added Mrs. Dash to the coating ingredients for a little extra flavor. Baked it at 400 degrees to obtain a crispy coating. Chicken turned out crispy on the outside and moist and tender on the inside. Thanks Diana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
I've found that it's better to bake the chicken in foil until about the last 15 minutes, then open up the foil to crisp it up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This was a good recipe base. However, based on other reviews I tweaked and combined recipe methods to come up with a really great recipe. First, melt the butter, adding 2 Tbsp of canola oil to help prevent butter from over browning, and pour into bottom of baking dish coated with cooking spray. TO KEEP THE COATING FROM COMING OFF WHILE BAKING: First place about 1/3 to 1/2 cup flour in a dish big enough to for the chicken breast to comfortably fit in. Next, place 1 egg in a similar dish and beat egg well. Then place coating mixture in a third similar dish. Dip each chicken breast into flour, egg and then coating. Then place into prepared pan. THEN TO IMPROVE FLAVOR: If anyone has the all|recipes Family Favorites Cookbook published in 2005, look on page 183 - this exact recipe is printed differently - the one in the book has printed to add 1/4 tsp each of dried time and rosemary. I also made a couple of additions: 1/4 tsp sweet paprika, 1/2 Itailian seasoning, 1/4 tsp salt-free all-purpose seasoning and 1/4 tsp ground shallots and I also added 8 crushed saltine crackers. Then I baked for 30 minutes and turned to bake on the otherside for 15 minutes, then I turned them again and baked an additional 10 minutes. I know this sounds like alot of extra to do, but my family really liked it. Hope this helps. Thanks for sharing the recipe - very versatile :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingsHorses

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
With the addition of onion powder, italian seasonings, paprika and cayenne, the chicken was delicious. I baked whole chicken pieces, which I skinned, on a rack to prevent a mushy bottom. I also used garlic powder in lieu of garlic salt as the parm had enough salt in it by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
This is the BEST coating for chicken around. My 5 kids loved this the first time I made it. Now it's an addition to our weekly menu. Asfaras the other reviewers saying mushy and not crispy, I disagree. Mine has turned out GREAT and crispy both times. The first time I used skinless chicken, the second time, I left it on. DELICIOUS either way!! Thanks Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This was pretty good. I used low fat margarine instead of butter and baked on a rack to help keep bottom from turning to mush. There was no crisp to my chicken but good flavor so I'll make this again. Plus my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States