Crispy Garlic-Parmesan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Tried this recipe tonight. Had to sub the Italian panko with lemon pepper panko and the parm cheese with cheddar - all we had on hand. Everyone loved it. The pasta however...bombed. After originally tasting it (no flavor, just straight up basil in my opinion), we added some cheddar cheese, salt and pepper to it. Helped it some but I would not eat it again (my boys liked it alright but the hubby and I said no.) I'd cook the chicken again. The spare sauce will be stored, not put on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I used butter buds instead of butter to dredge the chicken but otherwise followed the recipe. The sauce is quite tasty. I did find the chicken to be very anemic looking after the stated baking time so I broiled it for a few minutes to get it browned.. since we eat with our eyes first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
My family loved this recipe! We marinated the chicken in the sauce for 30 minutes before cooking and used cooking spray on the panko crumbs to increase crunch. This recipe was eaten well my my kids, indulged by me and in-hailed by my husband. Thank you for a great recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This was made tonight with one package of Costco's chicken and half the other ingredients. I had some Progresso Lemon Pepper Panko crumbs from a while back, and since they are VERY salty, I mixed them with Progresso's regular Italian bread crumbs and no parmesan. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as stated. To my pasta I added a whole bunch of the Starter and a lot of parmesan. This is a very easy very tasty meal. The recipe didn't really use very much of the can of the Starter, so I'll have to see how it freezes for another meal another time. Thanks, Progresso, for a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry E.
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
My first Progresso Recipe Starters cooking sauce recipe … Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken. The Chicken was delicious. Pasta??? Not so much. I made the recipe exactly as written. As far as speed and ease goes dinner was on the table within 35 minutes and I plan to add this to my Fast Night Meals Pinterest board. If I were to use this canned sauce on pasta again I would add some fresh herbs and more seasoning. I felt it didn’t have a fresh taste and almost crossed the line to a “Canned” taste. Chicken 5 stars… Pasta, 2 ½ stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
We Really, REALLY wanted to like this, but the sauce itself was really bland. Before coating the chicken I added the garlic powder and tasted the coating--then added black pepper, onion powder, paprika AND parsley. Then coated and baked as normal. I realized after I had coated with the panko that I had forgotten the melted butter mixed in with the Progresso mixture. My chicken didn't crisp up, so I had to put it under the broiler to prevent a soggy mess. The remaining soup for the sauce was WAY too bland to be used as sauce for pasta, so I sauteed some onion and garlic cloves and once that soup was warm used my hand blender to mix it all together. The taste was still off--very much tasted like something from a box or a can, even after increasing spices. It didn't do anything for the family--there was no 'wow' factor...the kids and hubby told me they honestly prefer oven 'fried' chicken fingers over this. I'm willing to agree--so much less work involved in those. I'm 90% certain we won't be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by CindyLepp
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I follow the recipe exactly and used bowtie pasta...we really liked it and it was so quick to bake the chicken in the oven! Thanks for the great recipe, Progresso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I liked the chicken part of this dish. It was delicious! I served the remaining sauce over penne pasta but didn't particularly care for it. Fast and easy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Quick and Easy! After working around the house, this dish made for a welcomed meal. It was so easy to put together. I set the timer for 12 minutes then turned the oven to broil for the last couple minutes for browning. Very tasty and enjoyable! Thank you Progresso Recipe Starters for another tasty easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by MrsWolfie
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
My family really raved about this dish. It was juicy, tasty and not at all difficult to make. The only reason I'm giving it four stars is I was disappointed it did not get crispy brown like in the picture. I cooked it for 8 minutes on one side, then flipped it for 10 on the other. I think for our oven, 400 may not have been hot enough. Will have to experiment with this in the future. The starter sauce really added alot of flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States