Crispy Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
For those that had a problem with the batter falling off be sure to pat the fish dry with paper towel first and your oil is hot enough. If you are using a basket with your fryer do not place fish in the bottom of the basket, leave the basket on the bottom and just drop the fish into the hot oil. Doing this will keep the batter from coming off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I didn't have corn flakes, so used fine cracker crumbs and left out the Cajun seasoning. I soaked the fish in the batter while the oil was heating. This turned out so great for a coating, that we did some shrimp also! Fantastic! Lots of leftover batter, it's true. However, I'll use this recipe on all my fried seafood. I'll never use a cornmeal coating again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Great tasting recipe. After reading other reviews about the batter/crumbs not sticking, I decided to leave the mixture on the fish for 1/2 an hour before frying. It's a trick I use for frying chicken. It worked great for the fish too. I also added more salt to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This recipe was not well thought out, but with a few alterations, turned out yummy! First problem, there is enough batter for at LEAST 2lbs of fish meat. Second, the cornflakes aren't sticking problem. Well, what I did was I had the cornflake mixture in one bowl, batter in another, then I had a third empty bowl. I would dip the fillet in the batter on both sides, let it drip off, then hold the fillet in my hand, then sprinkle the corn flake mixture over the batter-covered fillet on both sides. Your hands get a little messy, but you save a lot of crunchy coating this way, and the fillets turned out perfect! Soo yummy. Also, one last thing I did that helped is that I put spices in BOTH the batter and in the breading. Although, I think the breading, too, needs a teaspoon or two at least of salt, it was a little bland. Or you can use whatever seasoning you want, as long as it's got that salty spice to it. Over all, I will definitely cook this recipe again, I really liked the extra crunchy coating. Make sure to get the corn flakes extra crummy or they won't stick as well! Good Job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I don't know what happened, but this was a total disaster. The breading all fell off while cooking in the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
My family enjoyed the flavor and crispiness of this recipe. No doubt that it's an excellent taste. But I rated only 4 stars because it's a pain in the butt to make. I'm glad I followed the advice of a previous review that mentioned the corn flakes get gooey, so use a separate dish to coat the fillet. I had such a gummy mess on my hands each time. I will probably try other recipes before I go through this process again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaycie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This was awesome! I didn't have corn flakes or bread crumbs, so I used 1 cup of crushed ritz crackers and 1 cup of instant potatoe flakes...Also, was not paying attention and dumped all of the spices in the crumb mixture (I also added a little dry mustard as well.) Wow!!!The breading had such a nice flavor, and I will swear by this recipe forever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
My family enjoyed this recipe, very crispy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
WAY TOO MUCH BATTER FOR 1 POUND OF FISH. DEEP FRIED ANS BATTER CAME OFF. TASTE WAS GOOD BUT MESSY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This was an excellent recipe, which made golden crisp fish. It was so juice on the inside and crunchy on the outside. We will tell everyone about this recipe! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States