Crispy Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Very very good. Used talapia instead of cod, since that's what I had on hand. Ran out of Cajun spice before I wanted to, but was still happy with the results. The corn flakes made a nice and crispy coating. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
great recipe even for a fish frying "newbie" like me...things were going great (thanks to a thermometer in the oil, helping me keep a proper temp) until my son (3 years old) decided to take a closer look and dumped over the entire bowl of batter (where the fish was bathing in the batter) onto the waiting floor. What I DID fry, was very very good. Oh, and pay close heed to the review which specifies to use the corn flakes in succession, otherwise, you end up with a bowl of mushy cornflake crumbs that won't stick to the fish! p.s. I added just a bit (maybe a half cup) of yellow cornmeal to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmhousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loma Linda, California, USA
Living In: Pekin, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Works well, a winner in my book. Just what i was looking for. I used tilapia instead of cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This was perfect. The best batter ever for fish. I can't wait to try it on shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
the best thing i have ever eaten it is great tasting and my whole family though i was the best cook ever thank you and keep those receipts coming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Wow - this is great, my whole family loved it. I didn't change a thing. What I would do is make less of the liquid mixture - 1 c. of beer and 3/4 c. flour should be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Another 5 star recipe from my cooking comrades at allrecipes! This a.m. this little King Mackerel was swimming in the Caribbean and tonight he was soaking in Elden's batter. I used Carib beer and added 1/2 t cayenne and 1 t Shula's (the best hot sauce ever!) to the wet batter. I skipped the corn flakes and used corn meal instead. Then I made sure my oil was good and hot. Perfect! Big hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
An ok recipe, didn't really like the cornflakes, everything else seem to work ok though. Had a little trouble getting them battered and dipped in dry mixture, but on second attempt using bread crumbs instead of cornflakes, they were much better, but still not a favortie. Don't think I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Everyone's favorite catfish at our fry for the wonderful flavor. Cornmeal lovers preferred "Will's Spicy New Orleans Catfish Fries". We added 1 t salt to the cracker mix, soaked the fish in the batter while our oil heated up, and used cracker crumbs. This fish doesn't stay crispy, so eat it fresh out of the oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Best fried fish I've ever made. For those who have trouble with the breading staying on, just set the fish after coating on a cookie rack for about 10 or 15 minutes and there will be no problem. Also, if the oil is not hot enough the coating will stick to the pan. I also substituted panko bread crumbs for the cornflakes and the fish was very cripsy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States