Crispy Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
the best thing i have ever eaten it is great tasting and my whole family though i was the best cook ever thank you and keep those receipts coming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Wow - this is great, my whole family loved it. I didn't change a thing. What I would do is make less of the liquid mixture - 1 c. of beer and 3/4 c. flour should be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Another 5 star recipe from my cooking comrades at allrecipes! This a.m. this little King Mackerel was swimming in the Caribbean and tonight he was soaking in Elden's batter. I used Carib beer and added 1/2 t cayenne and 1 t Shula's (the best hot sauce ever!) to the wet batter. I skipped the corn flakes and used corn meal instead. Then I made sure my oil was good and hot. Perfect! Big hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
An ok recipe, didn't really like the cornflakes, everything else seem to work ok though. Had a little trouble getting them battered and dipped in dry mixture, but on second attempt using bread crumbs instead of cornflakes, they were much better, but still not a favortie. Don't think I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Everyone's favorite catfish at our fry for the wonderful flavor. Cornmeal lovers preferred "Will's Spicy New Orleans Catfish Fries". We added 1 t salt to the cracker mix, soaked the fish in the batter while our oil heated up, and used cracker crumbs. This fish doesn't stay crispy, so eat it fresh out of the oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Best fried fish I've ever made. For those who have trouble with the breading staying on, just set the fish after coating on a cookie rack for about 10 or 15 minutes and there will be no problem. Also, if the oil is not hot enough the coating will stick to the pan. I also substituted panko bread crumbs for the cornflakes and the fish was very cripsy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Fantastic fried fish! The best better I've made. In a hugely surprising turn of events, this recipes works with haddock. I would have given it six stars, but the recipe doesn't come with tartar sauce. Imagine my dismay when I went to make some, and discovered that I had no sweet relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
YUMMY! I didnt have any beer on hand so I used chicken stock instead. I also added some paprika and cayanne pepper. Its true that there is more batter then needed...but best to have more then not enough! I ended up using more cornflakes as well. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
super fast and tasty! i substituted bread crumbs for the cornflakes and it still tasted excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This was okay. I didn't have cod so I used basa. I thought it was a little bland. I didn't have any problems with the cornflakes staying on fish. If I make this again I will make a thicker batter and and more cajun seasoning. Also there is enough batter to make more fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States