Crispy Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Really good flavor! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Very tasty. I substituted crushed crackers for the cornflakes and the Cajun seasoning with Old Bay. I also sprinkled some chili powder into the mix to add to the flavor. When coating the fish, I followed some member reviews to use a portion of the crumbs/seasoning a little at a time to coat the fish so as to not let the mixture get soggy. When serving, I added some tabasco sauce to it to give it a little kick. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgia101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Great flavors to this fish. The whole family enjoyed it. I used canola oil to fry in, and followed this recipe as given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Good job. My girls don't usually like fried fish but really enjoyed this. I subbed saltines for the cornflakes and added cajun seasoning only to the slurry rather than the crumbs. This one goes into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Not sure how this works. My boyfriend found this recipe and we used it for fish tacos, but it turned out so good, we decided to just have fish sticks (better than any frozen fish ever) This is a great, easy recipe. I love to cook too. We should exchange recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
To me this came out way too oily. I couldn't finish the fish. I give it a three because it could have been my fault, I may have left the fish in the oil too long, I'm not a fish expert yet. Not sure I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMEN464

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very good recipe. Used fresh-caught white bass in place of cod. Really helped cover the "gaminess" of the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Helotes, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Made this tonight for dinner and it was great! Served it with the dill sauce from Hudsons Baked Tilapia w/ Dill Sauce on this site. I added a teaspoon of Old Bay and a teaspoon of Cajun seasoning to the breading mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Very very good. Used talapia instead of cod, since that's what I had on hand. Ran out of Cajun spice before I wanted to, but was still happy with the results. The corn flakes made a nice and crispy coating. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
great recipe even for a fish frying "newbie" like me...things were going great (thanks to a thermometer in the oil, helping me keep a proper temp) until my son (3 years old) decided to take a closer look and dumped over the entire bowl of batter (where the fish was bathing in the batter) onto the waiting floor. What I DID fry, was very very good. Oh, and pay close heed to the review which specifies to use the corn flakes in succession, otherwise, you end up with a bowl of mushy cornflake crumbs that won't stick to the fish! p.s. I added just a bit (maybe a half cup) of yellow cornmeal to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmhousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loma Linda, California, USA
Living In: Pekin, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States