Crispy Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is by far the best fried fish recipe we have ever had! I read the reviews and decided to do what I normally do when I make "Crunchy Chicken" ... so I patted off the fish fillets (walleye) - and then coated them with flour. When you do this it creates a smooth surface on the fish. Then when you dip them in the batter, do it quickly and let drip for about half a minute before coating in the Cornflakes mixture. I fried my fish at 325 degrees with a tablespoon of butter in the vegetable oil. The lower temp prevents smoking and burning of the fish. Turned out crunchy, flaky, tender, and very mouth watering. Recommend this to everyone! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjs56201

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Nice recipe.. Crispiest batter tho' is simply .rice flour,light beer,pinch salt & oil heated to 160c minimum to crisp up the batter..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was my first time doing a beer batter. It was amazingly simple and my husband loved it!!! Paired well with Rosemary Fries which are also on allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This turned out awesome. The only thing I did different is I didn't have any cornflakes so I used panko crumbs. This was extremely crunchy and golden brown. If your not going to use cajun make sure you use something with a little paprika to enhance the color. Everyone including the picky eaters loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This was a disaster! The coating wouldn't stick to the fish so none of the seasoning stuck to it and it failed to cook properly. I had to add quite a bit of seasoning to give it any taste. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Very easy! Instead of cornflakes, I used some old onion flavored potato chips. And I opted not to use cajun seasoning. I also had the problem where the batter didn't seem to be sticking to the fish, so we just dipped it in the batter again after putting crumbs on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Didn't have corn flakes so I used crushed ritz crackers and fried in a frying pan with about 1/4 inch of oil. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Replace the corn flakes with Panko and I assure you that you will never have a better crispy fish coating in your life. I also use this recipe for deep frying pickles and anything else I can get my hands on to fry with this batter. This is such a hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIECUEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Living In: Los Osos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Great recipe, used Salmon instead of cod and didn't have cajun seasoning so I used Montreal Chicken Spice. Had no problem with batter but followed a lot of others advice. Patted fish dry, then put in batter, then in cornflake mixture. Made a new batch of cornflake mixture for each piece so it was always crispy. Put in fridge for about 15 min before deep frying. Very very crispy and very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennidem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Good but the cornflakes didnt want to stick. I'll try some of the suggestions maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyanna Gray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States