Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mary Elizabeth Winter
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
First time ever attempting fried chicken, so it was a bit dicey a time or two, but when it was all said and done & time to taste, I really could NOT believe I made this chicken; it was THAT good. Recipe is 5 star, for sure, but I will say that a good base knowledge of cooking techniques is helpful. I can understand some of the confusion of other reviewers as to how long to let the breaded chicken sit, what "really hot" & "reduce heat" mean specifically, how to season "to taste", etc. It is helpful to have a feel for what works for you and your kitchen. Thank you, Elaine, for sharing this method for crispy, delicious fried chicken. This is truly as good as or better than any other chicken out there--can't wait to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Loved it thank you I'll be doing this one often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Ann Whitlock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Like a lot of reviewers, I like the methodology, but the seasoning is lacking. I added 1-tbsp. of garlic powder, 1-tbsp. onion powder, 1-tsp. of salt, 2-tsp. of paprika, and 1-tsp. of pepper to 2-cups of flour and it wasn't close to being seasoned. I would probably change the recipe to get to 2-tsp. of salt (or sub celery salt for an old bay taste). Oh, and it kinda sucked if you had like diff. sized pieces of chicken bc they weren't cooked evenly - I would stick to one type of meat (ex. thighs, breasts, etc.) Will def. try again, though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I am 57 years old and love to cook but I never made good fried chicken until I made this recipe. Thank you so much Elaine O. I danced around the kitchen after I tried the chicken. Finally! I did add 11 herbs and spices to the flour (copy cat KFC spices) and my whole family was blown away. I can now die in peace knowing I can make good fried chicken. PS, I have never rated a recipe before yours Elaine, but I had to give you praise and thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I'm not big on fried foods! But I do occasionally like to have good fried chicken. I used Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breast. They were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This is the recipe I've followed for awhile now and it produces perfect fried chicken every time - we never have any blood in the center (which was always my problem with other recipes.) Over time, I've changed 3 minor things to our liking. 1. Instead of paprika, I use garlic powder. 2. I mix an egg into the buttermilk (it helps it stick more.) 3. After its fully cooked, I lay it out on a baking rack over napkin covered plate. It seems to get even crispier this way. Great, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Kimberlie
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My first time ever making fried chicken and it turned out GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I followed the recipe but maybe I did something wrong as my chicken turned out chewy instead of crispy. I also added more seasoning than the recipe called for yet there wasn't much taste. I really had high hopes for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This is by far the best fried chicken i have ever made or eaten. I decied to add buffalo sauce after i finished frying the chicken and i have to sayy it was the best saturday dinner ever. Thanks a lot for this recipe would defiantly use it again and recommend everyone to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayanna wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Delicious. I made this as written and it was excellent. The only thing I will do next time is start checking the temperature at 20 minutes. I cooked it for 30 minutes and it was quite a bit past 165*. I also didin't need to use 2 quarts of oil in my pan. I needed about 2 cups. We had a couple of pieces today and it was good even cold. Thanks I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States