Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I'm making this my go to recipe for frying. I followed the advice of other reviewers and drained on a wire rack instead of a paper towel, worked out great. Waiting for the flour plus buttermilk mix to turn into a "paste" only took about 10 min. I also didn't have buttermilk so I just added a Tbs. Of lemon juice to a cup and waited until it thickened up, about 5 min. I just wish I used regular salt or season salt to the mix. I used kosher and it wasn't as good as it could have been, but that's my fault and an easy fix for next time. Juicy and crispy! I used this chicken for Japanese curry and it was awesome. I also had a few peices with bbq sauce and it was also great. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chukluvr
Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I use gluten free flour and it works like a dream. I also soak my chicken overnight in buttermilk, so it comes out marinated and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Chicken looked very nice with a good coating but once tasted was very oily. After research found out lowering heat causes chicken to absorb oil so be careful with your oil temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I tried it and I liked it very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 0000000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blythe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
first time trying it. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Braquet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Added an egg to the buttermilk as someone else mentioned. Chicken is incredibly light and crispy coming out of the deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Why the capitals for, very and LET SIT UNTIL THE FLOUR IS OF A PASTE-LIKE CONSISTENCY. THIS IS CRUCIAL!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I made this recipe last night. My husband loved it and it remained crunchy, even after reheating it. I have tried so many recipes for fried chicken, and this method was the best. I did add some onion & garlic powder in it, as well as old bay and poultry seasoning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeRub

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherri Samuels-Womack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pine Lake, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This was pretty yummy! Just make sure you don't make your oil too hot because if it's too hot, the outsides will cook faster (even burn) and the insides of the chicken won't be finished. Other than that, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States