Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I loved it, the best fried chicken recipe I've tried in a long time. The only change I'd make is to not let it sit until it gets pasty. We've used this same recipe on country fried steak & chicken tenders & it turned out rather amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stormy Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
definitely crispy...need to tweak it to my taste. as with all recipes, a starting place is important and the is a very good starting point. kick it to what you like, the method works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I made this, just now, exactly as the recipe dictates. That whole "LET IT SIT" in the #2 instruction is serious business, folks. I let mine sit for about 35 minutes. The oil was certainly hot enough (I checked) BUT the first batch didn't fare very well. The coating came off a couple of the pieces. Still edible, though, so I'll be using those pieces in a salad for lunch tomorrow. The second batch which, of course, sat with its flour coating a full half-hour longer than the first, came out perfect. Excellent! That's the trick here: let that chicken sit in its flour coating for a while; I recommend an hour, minimum. Oh yeah, as an added note, I'll say that I threw in some other spices with the paprika in the flour: onion powder, garlic powder, yada yada. Throw in what you like. You know what to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhubarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Best fried chicken I've ever made.The only thing I did different is I add 1/2tsp of garlic powder to flour.I Coated the chicken with flour then dredged in the buttermilk then back into flour then let it rest to form a paste. followed technique for frying and it was perfect.Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I am new to cooking, but this recipe turned out perfect! Very easy to follow and the chicken was moist on the inside and crispy on the outside. My boyfriend and I loved it and were super impressed with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Noel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I have tried many recipes this one by far is the best...Family loved it!! Thank you for sharing it with us..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I always wanted to make fried chicken that turned out just the way it did with this recipe. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcos Del Valle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I have never made fried chicken before but used this recipe and it turned out wonderful....I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
OK, so I have to admit, this is the first time I've ever made fried chicken myself, and this recipe is wonderful! Gotta agree with other reviewers: the technique that Elaine lays out is the key. The chicken came out beautifully golden brown and crispy on the outside and very moist on the inside - thank you, Elaine! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly. It was crispy but it lacked flavor. I will try it again, but will experiment with spices to get a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States