Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Excellent Recipe! Substitued Almond milk for dairy, added an egg to the milk. drudged the chicken let it sit for 20 min..drudged again-20 minutes later ready to cook. Cooked exactly to the recipe including using a Cast Iron Skillet! Insane delicious!!!!!!!!! I haven't made fried chicken in over 20 years, and it was never this good back then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
great recipe. I did something my grandmother showed me, soak the chicken, especially leg quarters, in salted water. Gets rid of veins and excess blood around the bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I followed this recipe to a T, did not add or change one thing and it did not receive the rave reviews I expected from the hubby or the kids. Children complained that the crust of the chicken was not flaky and crispy, it was hard. And as most posters before me commented, it lacks enough seasoning to really flavor the crust. I had to let the chicken pieces sit an hour before the buttermilk/flour coating made a gluelike paste so be prepared to have the prep time needed to make this recipe. I will not be making this again, not because it was bad but because it was not GOOD ENOUGH to warrant the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Moist and crispy! Loved it. Easy to follow. I used a deep fryer so it took about 20 mins. Keep monitoring the chicken so it doesn't get too brown. I think next time I'll try using one of the injectable creole seasonings on the chicken and have it sit in buttermilk that has been well seasoned ie add salt, pepper etc I'm from the Caribbean and we like our chicken well seasoned. There were a number of great tips from others that I will be sure to incorporate. 5 star recipe.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
LOVE the texture on this chicken; its perfect!! I used a deep fryer at 375 until the chicken turned golden brown and then dropped it to around 355 for about 10 minutes, then amped it back up to 375 for the final 4 minutes. Turned out super crispy and moist and juicy on the inside. I also double battered it because I prefer thicker breading. I did find that the flavour was not as strong as I'd hoped. So that's the reason for 1 less star. But I didn't taste the batter before I threw in the chicken, so could be my fault. Great recipe, I will remember to add more spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Can't say enough about this recipe. My family really loves this chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I might be biased, because Elaine O. is my mom! But I made this chicken myself the other night, and it was totally outstanding. It blew everyone away. I used slightly more flour than the recipe called for just to ensure a really good coating. It came out nice and crispy. If you like it even EXTRA crispy, I have a trick that I learned from Chinese cooking that you can also use here. Prepare the recipe as directed. Then, let the chicken and the oil cool for about 10 min. Then, bring the oil back up to very hot and re-fry each piece quickly, only for about 5-10 seconds tops. When they cool again, they'll be super crispy. My other optional tip is to let the chicken marinate for a while (30-120 min) in buttermilk first for added moistness and flavor to the meat. Try this recipe...it's the best buttermilk fried chicken you'll find!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Great recipe my chicken was sooooo moist and crispy. Just be sure to season the chicken and flour... I think because of the buttermilk you need a bit more seasoning, I love Tonys for chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
The chicken came out so crispy!!! It was fabulous! My husband said it was the best homemade fried chicken he had ever had. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
My 84 year old father requested pan fried chicken for dinner and I went with this recipe. So glad I did. He loved it and said it reminded him of the fried chicken his aunt used to make that he loved so much. The only thing I will add next time is gravy made from the pan drippings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States