Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Never made fried chicken until this recipe. It's super easy and the key is letting the chicken rest after it is battered and getting the oil to temp of 375 as one of the other reviewers noted. I added extra paprika and my friends loved it do much they had four helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
My family has a chicken fry every Memorial Day and my Mom has always made delicious fried chicken. Using this recipe took it to an all time high. Hands down best homemade chicken she has made and everyone agreed. She soaked the chicken overnight in buttermilk, breaded it as directed adding paprika and season salt. The color is darker when it has cooked due to the paprika so don't be alarmed. Letting the chicken sit 10-15 minutes or is the key and that was something we have never seen. It made the breading stay on better and the chicken was very juicy and more flavorful. Absolutely fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WISEM2K
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
With all of the 5 star reviews, I expected this this to be like the extra crispy chicken that you get from a focus fast food chain. It was close enough. I also soaked my chicken in a liter of water with a 1/3 cup of kosher salt for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEM2K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
You can use alternatives to buttermilk!! My daughter is allergic to milk, so I mixed up some soy sour cream and water to the consistency of buttermilk and used that. It turned out so great! This recipe is really simple and delicious. Step 2 is crucial. I have never waited for it to make a paste and I think that is the issue I have had in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I used this recipe with boneless chicken pieces and it was amazing. Letting the battered chicken pieces sit and the high low high frying are the key. Instead of paprika, I used a some cajun spice mix I had in the cupboard and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Sounds great, but one quick question. When you say heat both sides until browned, then reduce and cover........doesn't it get browner? Sorry but I am a total rookie here. Any help appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Now I finally know the proper technique. This is the best dang fried chicken I ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I made this for my boyfriend last night. It was really good! Very crispy. I did add additional seasonings like cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
SUPER crispy (almost too crispy) LOL! Just needs WAY more spices to make it perfect. My whole family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Mine came out rock hard even with reducing the cooking time. I tweaked for seasoning but the coating was so hard I never made it to the meat .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States