Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
It worked! I had planed on buying fried chicken, money was short bought a raw chicken instead and tried this receipt. After cooking, I was told this was better than the fried chicken I was going to buy. I also really spiced it up used seasoning salt . (Takes time, so don't wait until last minute to prepare.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Nice crunch, but needs more flavor. Next time I will add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I have been looking for a really good fried chicken recipe for years. Most of what I found has been good but not worth bothering with again. This one is the exception. It is very good. I followed the ingredients but added about 1/3 t. of Poultry Seasoning. (I didn't have buttermilk, so I used 3/4 c. full milk, 1/4 scant cup of cream, and 1 T. white vinegar as a replacement--a recipe I looked up online.) I fried the chicken to get it lightly browned, and then I put it in the oven at 175 degrees until I got back from church (about 1.5 hours). I then turned the oven up to about 325 degrees for about 20 minutes (fearing it might dry out--too many recipes produce dried out chicken). The chicken was tender and tasted great! This will be the recipe I use for many years to come. It turned out wonderfully well, and we all loved it. Thanks for sharing. (Next time, I'll have real buttermilk, and I bet it will be even better.) If you want a double thick, crunchy outside, dip your chicken in the flour first, then into the buttermilk, then back into the flour. (You will need extra buttermilk for this and maybe 3 cups of flour instead of two (adding extra salt, pepper and cayenne so as not to change this delicious recipe.) It turns out extra crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This recipe was really good! I've had a lot of fried chicken fails, so I was excited to find this one. The only change that I made was that after I fried the chicken until it was brown, I finished it in the oven, and only because all of the chicken wouldn't fit into one pan and I wanted it to be done all at the same time. It worked great! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caurel Robison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Never made fried chicken until this recipe. It's super easy and the key is letting the chicken rest after it is battered and getting the oil to temp of 375 as one of the other reviewers noted. I added extra paprika and my friends loved it do much they had four helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
My family has a chicken fry every Memorial Day and my Mom has always made delicious fried chicken. Using this recipe took it to an all time high. Hands down best homemade chicken she has made and everyone agreed. She soaked the chicken overnight in buttermilk, breaded it as directed adding paprika and season salt. The color is darker when it has cooked due to the paprika so don't be alarmed. Letting the chicken sit 10-15 minutes or is the key and that was something we have never seen. It made the breading stay on better and the chicken was very juicy and more flavorful. Absolutely fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WISEM2K
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
With all of the 5 star reviews, I expected this this to be like the extra crispy chicken that you get from a focus fast food chain. It was close enough. I also soaked my chicken in a liter of water with a 1/3 cup of kosher salt for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEM2K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
You can use alternatives to buttermilk!! My daughter is allergic to milk, so I mixed up some soy sour cream and water to the consistency of buttermilk and used that. It turned out so great! This recipe is really simple and delicious. Step 2 is crucial. I have never waited for it to make a paste and I think that is the issue I have had in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I used this recipe with boneless chicken pieces and it was amazing. Letting the battered chicken pieces sit and the high low high frying are the key. Instead of paprika, I used a some cajun spice mix I had in the cupboard and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Sounds great, but one quick question. When you say heat both sides until browned, then reduce and cover........doesn't it get browner? Sorry but I am a total rookie here. Any help appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fried Chicken

See great techniques for making crispy fried chicken.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States