Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
5 for method. I can't rate the seasoning because I added more using Chef Johns Buttermilk Fried Chicken as a rough guideline. But this method is the absolute BEST you will find-hands down!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Great crispy recipe. A good basic recipe you can add spices to for a bit of variety. So easy, too. I did thin strips and cooked them for 8-9 minutes at 350 or so in the fryer. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
You might not think something so simple could produce moist, flavorful chicken, but it does Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
first time EVER making fried chicken! MY family LOVED it! Looks to be a winner....thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojobean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Cannot tell you how happy I am with this chicken!!! I have been trying to successfully make fried chicken for about 8 years, but have never gotten it right. I made this and I will try no other recipe or way! Thank you thank you thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Wow!! I've used this recipe for the 3rd time and all I can say is it just keeps getting better and better!! I did brine my chicken for about an hour and then washed it before placing in plastic containers. I covered the chicken with buttermilk and about 5 dashes of hot sauce and then sealed tightly, shaking the containers to cover. I placed in the fridge and let it sit for about 2.5 hrs. I placed my flour in a paper grocery sack and really added the paprika and other seasonings (kinda heavy because the first two times I wanted more taste!). Shook very well for coating and placed on covered cookie sheets. After all the chicken was ready to for the pasty stage I sprinkled my remaining buttermilk/hot sauce mixture over it. I then followed the recipe as stated. The outcome was amazing!! Perfection.......juicy inside and crispy outside!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I'd nearly given up on any desire to put lots of time into fried chicken for a mediocre outcome. This recipe changed that. This is fried chicken done right. Follow the instructions exactly. Give yourself plenty of time to wait for the coating to set up on the chicken. This is the only recipe worthy of my home-grown chickens. Of course it's not health food but for a special occasion, it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This recipe reminded me of how Hooter's makes their chicken and I love that style, so I gave it a shot. If you read the directions, you know to season to taste (unless "bland" is the taste you want). We soaked the chicken in milk with a splash of lemon juice (homemade buttermilk) and some hot sauce. I used the paprika, some salt and some pepper, but added garlic and onion powder, some greek seasoning, some cayenne and some rosemary. (you can always taste the flour with the tip of your finger to check seasonings) We let the chicken get to its desired wet look and then fried it up as directed. This was so incredibly juicy and honest to goodness, straight out of the refrigerator, cold... then microwaved... still crunchy!!! I'm going to make pork chops with this as my 'starter' recipe and see how the family loves crunchy pork! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
It was the technique in this recipe that intrigued me. Many times I have fried chicken, esp. larger pieces like thighs, large legs and breasts, only to cut into them to see they were still red in the center. This method not only ensures a perfectly crisped crust, but also good internal cooking. My mom always taught me to season the chicken before frying, so the night before I sprinkled each piece with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. Chicken sat all night in the fridge. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. There are literally hundreds of fried chicken recipes out there, but this is the best I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
NEEDS lots more seasoning!!! Was really good second time with more seasoning. I saw one person say that they cut slits in chicken in the thickest part..good idea. I wish the top rated comment had mentioned seasoning because I only read the first few reviews the first time making it. I am going to try it with chicken strips next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States