Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I'd nearly given up on any desire to put lots of time into fried chicken for a mediocre outcome. This recipe changed that. This is fried chicken done right. Follow the instructions exactly. Give yourself plenty of time to wait for the coating to set up on the chicken. This is the only recipe worthy of my home-grown chickens. Of course it's not health food but for a special occasion, it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This recipe reminded me of how Hooter's makes their chicken and I love that style, so I gave it a shot. If you read the directions, you know to season to taste (unless "bland" is the taste you want). We soaked the chicken in milk with a splash of lemon juice (homemade buttermilk) and some hot sauce. I used the paprika, some salt and some pepper, but added garlic and onion powder, some greek seasoning, some cayenne and some rosemary. (you can always taste the flour with the tip of your finger to check seasonings) We let the chicken get to its desired wet look and then fried it up as directed. This was so incredibly juicy and honest to goodness, straight out of the refrigerator, cold... then microwaved... still crunchy!!! I'm going to make pork chops with this as my 'starter' recipe and see how the family loves crunchy pork! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
It was the technique in this recipe that intrigued me. Many times I have fried chicken, esp. larger pieces like thighs, large legs and breasts, only to cut into them to see they were still red in the center. This method not only ensures a perfectly crisped crust, but also good internal cooking. My mom always taught me to season the chicken before frying, so the night before I sprinkled each piece with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. Chicken sat all night in the fridge. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. There are literally hundreds of fried chicken recipes out there, but this is the best I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
NEEDS lots more seasoning!!! Was really good second time with more seasoning. I saw one person say that they cut slits in chicken in the thickest part..good idea. I wish the top rated comment had mentioned seasoning because I only read the first few reviews the first time making it. I am going to try it with chicken strips next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Yummy chicken! Thank you so much. Used cut up chicken quarters, and cut slits into the meaty parts. Loved the batter, it covered the cuts. Used a deep fryer and double checked 375 temp. with candy thermometer. The paprika makes this chicken brown fast. This recipe would work better with less meaty or boneless pieces because the fast browning time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
So... I used my own seasonings, but wanted to try this method. I agree with a lot of the other reviewers... the crust would not stay on some of the pieces, and what did, was hard not crispy. I'm hoping the leftovers are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Good recipe. Wouldn't say it was the "best" ever. Tasted like most fried chicken should taste. I don't think it was the moistess chicken either. But I received compliments so I'm good. I would do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
My family just devoured a batch of this chicken! Best I've ever made...thanks for the recipe and tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by portlandmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Sorry but this batter did not stick to the chicken. It fell off as it was frying and was a big disappointment! I'm going back to dipping the chicken in egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
The chicken came out delicouuusss!!, crispy and my husband loved it!! Thank you very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ange

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fried Chicken

See great techniques for making crispy fried chicken.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States