Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I made this for my boyfriend last night. It was really good! Very crispy. I did add additional seasonings like cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
SUPER crispy (almost too crispy) LOL! Just needs WAY more spices to make it perfect. My whole family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I have to agree with all the other ratings of one star. Mine came out rock hard even with reducing the cooking time. I read the 5-star reviews and tweaked for seasoning but the coating was so hard I never made it to the meat to know how it tasted. I now have a new rule of reading the least positive reviews as well as the most positive. I still wonder what I did wrong, considering the number of 5-star reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I actually did make this with chicken legs exclusively and it turned out FANTASTICALLY! My husband, who is the master fryer and incredibly particular about extremely flavorful food, raved about this! I also made creamed biscuits and green beans and it was an amazing comfort dinner haha I added onion powder, garlic powder, white pepper, and a little red pepper to the mixture also. This confused me when reading reviews so I want to tell what I did: I did 1 cup whole milk to 1T vinegar (vinegar goes in FIRST!) And let it sit like 15 min. Then I marinated 5 legs in that for an hour. Dropped in seasoned flour bag, dipped in soured milk again, and shook again in flower bag. I fried it in a cast iron skillet with half canola oil, half non-hydrogenated shortening. It was really amazing. I was so surprise because as comfortable I am with cooking, fried chicken has so intimidated me until now!! (Also, j only fit 4 legs in my skillet at once so I fried to light golden, covered for 15, and fried to crisp)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Tasty but more time consuming than I expected,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Best fried chicken I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great recipe. Best I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Loved it, first time I ever made decent fried chicken. I cut up large chicken breasts into good sized individual portions. I added 1Tbsp white vinegar to milk to make the buttermilk. Thanks!! I used peanut oil to fry the chicken, that also may have added to my success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceanbrzzz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dent, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I tried this tonight but I made it gluten free. The cooking time was a little to long and chicken was a bit dry but I will make again and lessen time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
to substitute buttermilk- use 1c. milk and then 1-1.5 tsp lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fried Chicken

See great techniques for making crispy fried chicken.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States