Crispy Fried Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Fantastic! For those of you complaining about the spices, add them AFTER you pull the wings out of the fryer, before they cool off. Good spices are expensive, and if you add them to the wing or batter before frying, you will lose them in the oil. What you end up with is well seasoned oil, which is useless. I mix the spices I like in a bowl, and as soon as the wings are pulled from the fryer, I sprinkle the spices I like on with my fingers. This also gives the oil a chance to rise back up to cooking temperature. I usually fry these for 11 minutes (4-5 large wings at a time) and I flip them after 6 minutes. I never clip off the wing tips. They are great for nibbling on. KUDOS to the author for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Oh, My! I fixed this for dinner and it was a hit. My husband said he thought this was the best I had ever made. Next time, I think I will add more spices, we like ours a with a little more. Kids would like this as is. Frying is messy, but these are worth the mess. This is a keeper for our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Council, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Very crispy and tasty. I don't like too much spice and this was very nice. Tasted even better with chicken and rib BBQ sauce. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I've tried a few different crispy wing recipes, but this one was the big hit with the family. Prefect crispy, coating. The only complaint was that they weren't seasoned enough. Next time I'll double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Frickin legit. Used this with different spicy and BBQ sauces. 5+ stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Great recipe to build off of. I usually quadruple the amount of cayenne (i like it spicy), then once they are fried I coat in buffalo sauce and throw in the oven for a few minutes to make some delightfully spicy & relatively clean to eat wings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I gave this try and really liked it. I applied a buffalo wing sauce after they lost a little crispiness but still had great flavors and very tender. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Loved it!!! My five-year-old daughter is picky but she ate 4 of these wings in a row! The only thing different I did was add a few shakes of Old Bay and a bit more salt after I took them out of the fryer. We loved these so much that tonight for dinner we are making them again only this time as chicken fingers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
They ended up crispy just like I liked them. The only ding off was that it was just bland chicken in the end, and I added way more spices then what the recipe called for. For some reason none of the spice made it to the wings, but stayed in the dry mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anny Perez
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This recipe give me the crunch i been looking for!! Perfect! Just had to add a little more salt and pepper to taste and more cayanne pepper(i read the reviews first) my family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anny Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States