Crispy Fried Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I made this recipe today and my family loved it! I made some changes - i did not have chicken wings, so i used chicken thighs. I cut each thigh in two and seasoned them with curry, thyme, salt and chicken seasoning. I let it cook (be careful not to over-cook them). I took them out of the broth and let them drain off a rack. I mixed the butter-milk mixture according to the recipe and dipped the cooked chicken in it. I did not have crackers, so i used crushed crispbread. I doubled the amount of the seasonings and mixed it with the flour. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
My family really liked them- I have to balance the taste against the time spent making them and the mess from deep frying. All in all, if you're willing to put the effort in, these are quite good. I think I will look for an easier way to get a good taste from wings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
While I added more seasoning, because I know my taste buds, I found this recipe an EXCELLENT start. First, it is NOT all about the breading and frying technique, it is about knowing your own taste buds. However, I followed my own advice (see below) and added garlic powder, sage, dill weed, onion powder, more thyme than called for. I read the last ingredient: Salt to taste after you cook them. That ends "BLAND" and makes it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
These were ok. I doubled the recommended seasoning, based on a few comments on here about it being bland. And it was still blah. The texture was right on point. Personally, I will just add more/different seasonings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
loved this recipe, we didn't deep fry just baked in the oven, the spice was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anny Perez
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This recipe give me the crunch i been looking for!! Perfect! Just had to add a little more salt and pepper to taste and more cayanne pepper(i read the reviews first) my family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anny Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Fantastic! For those of you complaining about the spices, add them AFTER you pull the wings out of the fryer, before they cool off. Good spices are expensive, and if you add them to the wing or batter before frying, you will lose them in the oil. What you end up with is well seasoned oil, which is useless. I mix the spices I like in a bowl, and as soon as the wings are pulled from the fryer, I sprinkle the spices I like on with my fingers. This also gives the oil a chance to rise back up to cooking temperature. I usually fry these for 11 minutes (4-5 large wings at a time) and I flip them after 6 minutes. I never clip off the wing tips. They are great for nibbling on. KUDOS to the author for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Thank you for the recipe but i thinnk i will add some hot sauce to the buttermilk mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
They ended up crispy just like I liked them. The only ding off was that it was just bland chicken in the end, and I added way more spices then what the recipe called for. For some reason none of the spice made it to the wings, but stayed in the dry mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Pretty bland. Very crispy, but a dry taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States