Crispy Fried Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Oh, My! I fixed this for dinner and it was a hit. My husband said he thought this was the best I had ever made. Next time, I think I will add more spices, we like ours a with a little more. Kids would like this as is. Frying is messy, but these are worth the mess. This is a keeper for our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Council, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
they werent bad but they weren't great. The breading was bland. I would use more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I've tried a few different crispy wing recipes, but this one was the big hit with the family. Prefect crispy, coating. The only complaint was that they weren't seasoned enough. Next time I'll double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Great recipe to build off of. I usually quadruple the amount of cayenne (i like it spicy), then once they are fried I coat in buffalo sauce and throw in the oven for a few minutes to make some delightfully spicy & relatively clean to eat wings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The wings were good, but a little bland. I think next time I will add more seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Frickin legit. Used this with different spicy and BBQ sauces. 5+ stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I thought these were bland but still delicious and crispy, especially with the right dipping sauce! I read the reviews and thought I might add a little more flavor by chopping 5 habeneros and putting them in the buttermilk mixture, and substituting garlic crutons instead of saltine crackers but they still came out extremely bland. I usually think everything's spicy so thats saying something. It must have something to do with the frying process?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Torneby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Very crispy and tasty. I don't like too much spice and this was very nice. Tasted even better with chicken and rib BBQ sauce. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Fantastic! For those of you complaining about the spices, add them AFTER you pull the wings out of the fryer, before they cool off. Good spices are expensive, and if you add them to the wing or batter before frying, you will lose them in the oil. What you end up with is well seasoned oil, which is useless. I mix the spices I like in a bowl, and as soon as the wings are pulled from the fryer, I sprinkle the spices I like on with my fingers. This also gives the oil a chance to rise back up to cooking temperature. I usually fry these for 11 minutes (4-5 large wings at a time) and I flip them after 6 minutes. I never clip off the wing tips. They are great for nibbling on. KUDOS to the author for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
It did make the chicken crisp but it was bland. I even added extra seasoning and it still was under seasoned. Maybe next time I'll season the skin directly like i usually do. My kids enjoyed it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States