Crispy French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Whoever rated it one star is smoking crack, THIS IS DELICIOUS!! Whoever rated this 5 stars, you get a pop tart. Notice: We used rice crispies instead of cornflakes, turned out to be much less sweet. Don't put too much syrup on it, all of you will get a stomach ache like me XD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zabatoge Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Im not a french toast kind of person, but this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This was really good. Better than I expected. My wife loved it too. Just for personal preference I cut the bread slices into fourths to make each slice smaller. Also, I crushed up the corn flakes some until the corn flakes were roughly the size of M&Ms. Followed the rest of the recipe as written. Will definitely be making this again. The Crispy French Toast actually didn't taste fried or greasy. It was just plain good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustAGoodOlBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Instead of cornflakes, I used Special K lowfat granola (first broke up the big pieces in a bag with a rolling pin). It was fabulous! I also pan fried with much less oil, placed on paper towels after frying to drain extra oil, reduced the sugar to the egg mixture, and didn't use syrup just a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa Emerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is the best french toast I have ever had! I did make an adjustment though. All I had was frosted flakes, so I just didn't add any sugar to the egg mixture. It wasn't too overly sweet, just right. Also, (using normal white bread) I cut the slices in half on a diagonal before putting it in the egg mixture. That way it was easier to take in and out of the hot oil. It makes it look a lot nicer too. Oh..and I ate two piece's but it only works out to be one piece of bread, so it wont be as harsh on the waist line! I hated french toast til I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This was SOOOO YUMMY! It tastes like something from the fair. I didn't have any corn flakes so I just crumbled up some graham crackers instead, It made the oil very dirty, but still the best french toast I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanita_Doodles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
It was different. Kind of good. Just a little too much work for not being super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
My husband and I agreed that this is the best French Toast recipe ever. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. Just follow the directions and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I never make it with the Corn Flakes. I also don't measure anything for this recipe (cinnamon junkie) - I just shake in until I think it's enough. Add in some Almond Extract. Fry in the oil until edges are crispy, and just a shade darker than golden. Top with gobs of butter and powdered sugar. Man, oh man - it's almost like a Carnival Mini Donut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States