Crispy Flautas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I made these for the first time last night, 3/6/2015. This is a fantastic recipe. The only thing I did differently was fry corn tortillas on each side for a couple of seconds before adding my chicken mixture. I was so surprised how fresh they tasted compared to the ones you get in a restaurant. Also, I made my own taco mixture with 1 tbs of chili powder, 1/2 tbs of onion powder and 1/2 tbs of cumin. Nothing can compare to home cooked, we love these and will use them as an appetizer next time we have a dinner party. I made mexican rice as a side and guacamole- 3 avocados, 3-4 chopped onions, 1 Serrano, 1/2 squeezed lime or lemon, and about 1 tbs of my homemade hot sauce, and a chopped tomato. Season with salt, pepper, cumin to taste. If the serrano has too much heat, use a regular jalepeno. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Eustace, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
enjoyed the chicken filling, the corn tortillas did not work for me, when I rolled the tortillas were falling apart. I just happened to find flour tortillas and worked much better, will be headed to the store for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
These were delicious and SO easy! My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
These were great, didn't use toothpicks and if you find the tortillas are tearing it may be that you are not using them at room temperature. I used the hatch chili shredded chicken my store carries in the deli to save some time and it came out fabulously. I serve with guacamole, salsa and sour cream, and a salad with a cilantro, lime dressing and they disappear quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda Pederson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I love this recipe its so flavorful. The only thing i did differently was make it with whole grain flour tortilla. Its definitely going to made in my house on a monthly basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShanesMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Excellent!!! My wife's favorite Mexican food is flautas, and she prefers these over her favorite restaurant flautas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DuRod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Campo, Texas, USA
Living In: Ingleside, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
All though this looks good it's more like taquitos than flautas. I order flautas at my fave Mexican restaurant which uses flour tortillas instead of corn. And I prefer beef over chicken. However I would love to try it with corn. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe was good, but not outstanding, to me. I didn't care for the cheese in the mix...the ones here don't have cheese. I also used my own homemade seasoning instead of packaged taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made these last night and not a single one was left. I used flour tortillas instead of corn but that was the only thin I changed. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Yes. Baking Nana is correct. Flautas Are flour tortillas not corn. So with that said, I too had leftover chicken. I added a couple teaspoon of dried onion, chicken tacos seasoning and some chipotle powder. I didn't bother with toothpicks, just held them together with tongs till they could hold their own shape. Drained and served with guacamole n sour cream. I made Fideo to go with it. Delish! Thanks KCB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States