Crispy Flautas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Traditionally I do believe Flautas are made with flour tortillas and Taquitos with corn tortillas. At least in Southern California these would be considered taquitos. I used cooked left over chicken. Minced very small. Minced the onion and bell pepper small. Cooked the onion, bell pepper - added the chicken and taco seasoning and cooked a bit. Added about 1/4 cup water and cooked it down - add a little more water if it seems to be drying out. Take off the heat and stir in the cheese. For the tortillas - I heated the oil and dipped each tortilla briefly in the hot oil - remove quickly so they don't start to brown. Place a spoonful of chicken on to each tortilla roll up and place seam side down on paper towels. Do NOT overfill. Once all the tortillas are rolled start frying by placing into the oil seam side DOWN - 3 or 4 at a time - this seals the tortilla. Once brown and crispy, flip and fry the other side. Drain on paper towels and serve with salsa on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I just made this recipe because I was tired of the same old chicken recipes. I used flour tortillas though instead of corn because that's all I had in the house and they were wonderful. I had some friends stop in and they also loved them and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
These are excellent. The meat has just enough flavor and the salsa adds a nice touch. The only problem I had with mine was rolling the corn tortillas because they are so thin. My advice is dont buy the cheap ones because they tear really easily. Other than that I will DEFINATELY be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is the way my Mom used to make them when we were little. I know it's not the healthiest, but hey, when do you usually eat flautas? I eat them with some guacamole and cream on the side. So delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YumLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Veracruz, Veracruz, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Made these and they tasted great. I didn't have boneless chicken breast. I used 2 cans of chunk chicken. It worked fine a little less time cooking chicken. I will be buying better tortillas mine were breaking on the roll. I think if you heat them in microwave for a bit it helps. I'll try the Ortega brand next time. No complaints in this house LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I made these using green Enchillada sauce, and some cumin for seasoning, instead of the Taco seasoning and water and they were delicious.I also used flour tortillas instead of corn tortillas I will definately make this again. They were even better the next day after sitting for a while in the fridge- I just reheated them in the oven to keep them crispy ( don't reheat in the microwave or they will go soggy). Served with lots of guacamole and they were to die for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleblanc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Yes. Baking Nana is correct. Flautas Are flour tortillas not corn. So with that said, I too had leftover chicken. I added a couple teaspoon of dried onion, chicken tacos seasoning and some chipotle powder. I didn't bother with toothpicks, just held them together with tongs till they could hold their own shape. Drained and served with guacamole n sour cream. I made Fideo to go with it. Delish! Thanks KCB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
My family loved this recipe. It has become a part of the monthly menu. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I love this recipe its so flavorful. The only thing i did differently was make it with whole grain flour tortilla. Its definitely going to made in my house on a monthly basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShanesMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Made these for my family last night and they LOVED them. We didn't make any changes to the recipe except to use flour tortillas. Surprisingly quick to make, a good weekday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States