Crispy Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
My husband and I loved the breading flavor, which is like eating cajun fish and the french fries at the same time. The coating is excellent for any skinless, boneless meat: I have now tried it with fish fillets, chicken thighs, and pork chops. If you are afraid of frying in butter, try spraying all over the meat with butter flavored Pam, dusting it with coating, spraying again, dusting again, and then one last spray before putting it into a hot oven on a foil lined pan. If you are afraid of the spicy heat (or have picky kids), start off with only 1/4 teaspoon of the cayenne and add a little more to taste each time. I like to add a pinch of crushed thyme and dried onion to the mix. Thank you Kristi. You made my Ash Wednesday supper a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
No one in our family liked this...sorry. We love fish. We have it every Friday...it's a Green Bay, Wisconsin tradition. Thought we'd try a new way of fixing it and found this recipe. The problem with this 'breading' is that you cannot taste any fish at all. It's sooo crunchy and it soaks up soooo much shortening that it was just blah, greasy and crunchy. Not at all what we were looking for. It began to get very dark on the outside, but after almost triple the recommended cooking time, the fish was still not flaky and cooked through. Tried a second batch....exact same problem. Definately won't be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
My family and I love this recipe. I make the coating exactly as written and it turns out excellent every time. I do dry off the fish (walleye) after soaking and dip in a beaten egg before dipping it in the coating mixture. Make sure the oil is very hot for best results. My three year old asks for this fish every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
THis was such crispy fish. I used half yellow cornmeal half flour and will do so next time too. Also I think next time i will use mustard powder instead of the pepper. ALSO - the next day I used the leftover mixture to make MEATBALLS for Meatball Grinders with a Yummy Sauce. Wow it was great!!! This stuff makes great meatballs. Just added a couple of eggs and the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This was really good. I wasn't sure about the potato flakes as a crust, but it was really good. I didn't have any cayenne pepper so I just left it out, and honestly, I think it probably would've been better with it in. I thought it lacked enough flavor, but my husband, who is a very picky eater, really loved this recipe! He said he'd like it once a week (which is a HUGE compliment for him!). I cut the fillets into strips to make "fish sticks", covered each strip in potato/flour mix, dipped in beaten egg, and then back in the potato/flour mix. I wanted a thicker crust and it worked really well. Thanks for sharing, this is a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I really like this recipe! I generally don't like deep frying because my house ends up with that greasy restaurant smell, but this wasn't bad. To cut down on fat I used canola oil, and I didn't have any potato flakes so I used finely crushed saltines. The spices were great. I will definitely use this again when my dh begs for a fish fry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
'OH MY GOODFISH!' This is the BEST! Fish Breading! I just made my Walleye from Burt Lake last week..:) Used this breading recipe and.. even my B/F said this is GOOD! only thing i changed was used my McCormick red & black pepper blend instead of caynne pepper but, i bet it is good with a hotter pepper! I used veg oil in a deep fry pan heated the oil to hot, dried the fillets, dipped them in egg then dredged them in the breading and fried in the hot oil till golden brown and done! AWESOME! thank's Kristi! this is a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
This is a great recipe. We love it. Easy to make and whoda thunk potato buds could add so much? I added a little bit of Old Bay seasoning too to give it that Chesapeake Bay touch and substituted flounder and orange roughy for the cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELDUB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
VERY GOOD! I couldn't believe when my kids even ate it! I generally like fish (we used Blue Gill), but this was GREAT! Thank you for a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAKNIGHT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This was excellent!!! We like things spicy so I added alot more spices and I think I'll use 1/2 cornmeal & 1/2 flour next time. Thank you Kristi! P.S. I tried the 1/2 cornmeal mixture yesterday and it was even better (the fish stayed crispy even cold).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States