Crispy Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I'm sure this would be amazing deep fried but I went for a pan-fried version. My only complaint is it is WAY too spicy--and I LOVE my food hot. I will cut the spice in half next time but will def. make this again. Lots of flavor, delicious, just too much cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Very good and tastes great on chicken and pork too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Medina, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
delicious!!! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Recipe tasted ok, fish was moist, but fried in lard which I didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
We didn't have the potato flakes and replaced with cracker crumbs and it worked well. The spiciness was fabulous/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
WOW!! I didn't know that homemade fish sticks could be so crispy! I made the dipping mix, only adjusting the spices to reflect what I have on hand. Fantastic. Will definitely make again. We used some halibut up that was getting too old to taste good grilled. The kids all liked it except my 2 year old. That may have been due to other factors though! You sometimes can't tell with that age. Anyway, I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I found myself out of my regular fish fry so I immediately pulled up this site and found this seemingly easy and well received recipe. I followed these directions exactly. I found the fish greasy and the coating tasteless. Perhaps we are just more accustomed to spicy, crisp and DRY fish. I, personally, think the biggest problem with this fish is that the coating makes the fish absorb too much of the grease, making the fish itself "wet" and gummy instead of the flaky and moist texture you would want. I used Talapia, the easiest fish in the world. Our normal fish coating is dry Louisiana Fish Fry. Don't hesitate to try this because of my review.. I'm sure I must have done something wrong being that so many others raved about it. This is just one person's opinion:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great recipe! I used regular salt instead of season salt, as I was out of it. I also just fried the fish in vegetable oil. It came out great tasting and crunchy, how we like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
We loved this recipe, and had many compliments. we did dry the fish off, dip in an egg/milk mixture and fried in olive oil. Very tasty! thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Loved loved loved it!!! As many posters have said, my husband does not care for fresh fish but he was amazed that he liked this fish so well. Thank you for sharing this recipe--it is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States