Crispy Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This fish is really good with some changes. For the first batch I followed the recipe exactly but the coating just didn't stick, so then I dipped it in eggs then in the breading mixture then back in the eggs and back in the breading to give an extra coating. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I did not have enough potato flakes so i used 1 1/2 cups of potato flakes and 1 1/2 cups flour. i also used salmon and then deep friend it. this was very crispy and delicious. oh and i also addded 1/2 cup italian style bread crumbs. This is a very good recipe, the only thing i would highly reccomend is not soaking the fish in water. dry it really well and then dip in an egg and milk mixture then coat with dry mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Yummmmmy. Thank to all for the great suggestions. I dredged in potoato/flour dry mixture, then the egg, then the dry mixture again before frying. I also cut the fish in about 1" strips, which helped the crispiness and made it nice for dipping in tartar sauce. Didn't have shortening, so used canola oil. We loved it.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Yummy. My husband doesn't usually like fish but he said he liked this fish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Hard to rate this one. I am sensitive to wheat and left out the flour (as suggested) and the only instant potatoes I had on hand were more granular than flaky, which is probably why the breading didn't stick to the fish while frying. I ended up with a pile of bland, crispy potato bits and even blander fish. Will try again with flakier dry potatoes. If it's a significant improvement I'll change my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Very tasty... fried it in vegetable oil in a large non-stick skillet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARoseman1229

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was fabulous...to make it more "picky kid friendly" I will use less cayenne...otherwise it is perfect as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I used this reciepe with cod and it was fantastic, the kids loved it, fish looked just like the picture crispy and brown. It reheated well the next day, will use this reciepe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I thought this recipe was good, but still lacked just a bit of flavor. Maybe adding lemon pepper instead of ground black pepper, as well as sprinkling a bit of lemon juice on the fish would help. I thought the amount of spice was great, but adding some citrus would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
The whole family enjoyed this recipe and my husband said it was the best way to use instant mashed potatoes that he had ever heard. I followed the recipe to the letter but i will cut the cayenne in half next time, just as a personal preference. I will DEFINATELY make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States