Crispy Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I used this recipe for haddock, and substituted 1/2 cup corn starch - instead of flour- tasted great! Will make this recipe again- but I shouldn't have flipped the fish because it fell apart- the shortening is deep enough to not flip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Was very good and crunchy for oven baked fish. We were looking for a light fish recipe - didn't want to fry it - and this hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Definitely a keeper!! Hubby likes a crunchy batter and I prefer a smooth batter, but I gave this a try. I was pleasantly suprised at how this turned out. I used the exact ingredients (no variations) and deep fried in oil. It wasn't too spicy either. It was actually perfect. We are definitely making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I'm sure this would be amazing deep fried but I went for a pan-fried version. My only complaint is it is WAY too spicy--and I LOVE my food hot. I will cut the spice in half next time but will def. make this again. Lots of flavor, delicious, just too much cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Very good and tastes great on chicken and pork too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Medina, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
delicious!!! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Recipe tasted ok, fish was moist, but fried in lard which I didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
We didn't have the potato flakes and replaced with cracker crumbs and it worked well. The spiciness was fabulous/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
WOW!! I didn't know that homemade fish sticks could be so crispy! I made the dipping mix, only adjusting the spices to reflect what I have on hand. Fantastic. Will definitely make again. We used some halibut up that was getting too old to taste good grilled. The kids all liked it except my 2 year old. That may have been due to other factors though! You sometimes can't tell with that age. Anyway, I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I found myself out of my regular fish fry so I immediately pulled up this site and found this seemingly easy and well received recipe. I followed these directions exactly. I found the fish greasy and the coating tasteless. Perhaps we are just more accustomed to spicy, crisp and DRY fish. I, personally, think the biggest problem with this fish is that the coating makes the fish absorb too much of the grease, making the fish itself "wet" and gummy instead of the flaky and moist texture you would want. I used Talapia, the easiest fish in the world. Our normal fish coating is dry Louisiana Fish Fry. Don't hesitate to try this because of my review.. I'm sure I must have done something wrong being that so many others raved about it. This is just one person's opinion:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States