Crispy Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
We've searched for a crispy fish recipe for close to a year now. I've made them all - and not been pleased w/ any - UNTIL THIS!!! I made a mistake and added 1c bread crumbs instead of the flour. We loved it so much, I doubt I'll make the change. I did add the garlic powder to the potato flake mixture - but to the fish, I sprinkled paprika, cayenne pepper, sea salt and onion powder on both sides. I also lightly whipped 3 egg whites to coat the fish before dipping it in the dry ingred. We fryed the fish in peanut oil heated to approx. 375 degrees. The fish fillets were done in approx. 2 minutes - and were not oily. This recipe is a home run!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This breading is wonderful! My whole family loved the fish prepared this way. I fried the fish in a sautee pan with a little bit of canola oil instead of deep frying it. Just turn when golden brown. Very good flavor and crispy. Really brought out the taste of the fish. I also used butter and herb instant potato flakes since I was out of the plain. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
YUM :) Made it w/ catfish and made a chipotle tartar sauce out of mayo, relish, hot sauce and cajun seasoning. easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Great crispy flavor. I was worried that it might have too much of a "kick" for my kids taste but they loved it!This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Interlachen, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
My family and I love this recipe. I make the coating exactly as written and it turns out excellent every time. I do dry off the fish (walleye) after soaking and dip in a beaten egg before dipping it in the coating mixture. Make sure the oil is very hot for best results. My three year old asks for this fish every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Have made this twice. It keeps getting better and better. Even fish hating 11 year old thinks this is awesome. Very light and crispy with just hints of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
No one in our family liked this...sorry. We love fish. We have it every Friday...it's a Green Bay, Wisconsin tradition. Thought we'd try a new way of fixing it and found this recipe. The problem with this 'breading' is that you cannot taste any fish at all. It's sooo crunchy and it soaks up soooo much shortening that it was just blah, greasy and crunchy. Not at all what we were looking for. It began to get very dark on the outside, but after almost triple the recommended cooking time, the fish was still not flaky and cooked through. Tried a second batch....exact same problem. Definately won't be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Doctored up the seasonings a bit but LOVE the use of the potato flakes! Boyfriend usually doesn't care for fried foods but he LOVED this! Served fried cod with "Rachel's Wasabi Cocktail Sauce" made hecka hot as preferred. Will add this one to the roattion for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was quick and easy. We liked how crispy the coating was but we found it way too salty. You can really taste the seasoning salt as well as the cayenne. If I make this again, I would cut back on the seasoning salt and probably leave out the cayenne all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This is a really good recipe, I will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States