Crispy Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Great crispy flavor. I was worried that it might have too much of a "kick" for my kids taste but they loved it!This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Interlachen, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
My family and I love this recipe. I make the coating exactly as written and it turns out excellent every time. I do dry off the fish (walleye) after soaking and dip in a beaten egg before dipping it in the coating mixture. Make sure the oil is very hot for best results. My three year old asks for this fish every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Have made this twice. It keeps getting better and better. Even fish hating 11 year old thinks this is awesome. Very light and crispy with just hints of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
No one in our family liked this...sorry. We love fish. We have it every Friday...it's a Green Bay, Wisconsin tradition. Thought we'd try a new way of fixing it and found this recipe. The problem with this 'breading' is that you cannot taste any fish at all. It's sooo crunchy and it soaks up soooo much shortening that it was just blah, greasy and crunchy. Not at all what we were looking for. It began to get very dark on the outside, but after almost triple the recommended cooking time, the fish was still not flaky and cooked through. Tried a second batch....exact same problem. Definately won't be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Doctored up the seasonings a bit but LOVE the use of the potato flakes! Boyfriend usually doesn't care for fried foods but he LOVED this! Served fried cod with "Rachel's Wasabi Cocktail Sauce" made hecka hot as preferred. Will add this one to the roattion for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was quick and easy. We liked how crispy the coating was but we found it way too salty. You can really taste the seasoning salt as well as the cayenne. If I make this again, I would cut back on the seasoning salt and probably leave out the cayenne all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This is a really good recipe, I will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I used this breading with Lake Erie yellow perch fillets. It was wonderful!!! So easy, and no eggs needed. I will be using this recipe again. Thank you Kristi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSHERI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Interesting ingredients with an amazing result. I prepared this according to the recipe, but threw in a pinch or two of Old Bay. Even my husband liked it...release the doves....! Thanks for sharing, Kristi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This is a great recipe! My family loves it and always wishes I had made more. The fish is very tasty and seems to melt right in your mouth. I usually make the amount of coating called for in the recipe, but instead of dredging in a bag, I put the fish in a bowl with the coating, making sure to pick out any fish peices and fry them. I then put the extra coating in a freezer bag and freeze it until next time. There doesn't seem to be any negative effect to this, and I don't think it's unsanitary, as the coating is kept at a very low temperature until I fry the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States