Crispy Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I was looking for a fried fish recipe that didn't use eggs and came across this one. I cut down a little on the pepper, substituted cornmeal for about 1/3 of the flour, and fried the fish in canola oil. It turned out crunchy and yummy! I did have a lot of "breading" left over, so next time I'll make half the amount so it doesn't get wasted. Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I also dipped the fish in egg and my family loved it. I fried it in canola oil and not the shortening. Very good. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Fantastic! The only variation I use was to dry the fish after water soak and dip in beaten eggs before coating the Flounder. Pan fried until golden brown turning once. The butter flavored shorening, used for frying, adds a nice flavor. Great recipe! I'll be using this for all of my fish dinners unless something better comes along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florida Chef Stan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Made just a little different. Used three pie plates for my work station.Put together about 2 c. Panko Bread Crumbs to 1 c.Corn Flake Crumbs, with about 1 tsp. of salt and 1 1/2 tsp.of Old Bay in one pie pan, then in another pie pan I added about 1 c. of flour with 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/2 tsp of Old Bay The last an egg mixed with water beaten. Put your piece of fish in egg mixture, then in flour, then back in egg, then in Panko,bread crumbs. Fry on high heat, fry till it's the color you like, [flipping over to each side]drain on paper towel lined cookie sheet. Put in 200* oven to keep warm till your all done frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I substituted the dry potato flakes for cornflake crumbs and substituted an egg wash for the water and liked it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Very tasty and crispy. I used 1/2 cup flour and 1/2 cup cornmeal as other reviewers suggested. I also added an egg in the milk dip to help the mixture stick to the fish better. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
A really simple dish and my kids loved it. Made it again but this time without the butter flavored shortening and just used regular shortening and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was VERY YUMMY! I used fresh Largemouth Bass (I live on the coast and have an endless supply of freshwater and saltwater fish). The only change I made was that I used milk instead of water to moisten the fish filet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseMamaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States