Crispy Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Worked out great! We may three changes: 1. My wife can't have gluten, so we used coconut flour 2. My daughters won't go for anything spicy, so I left out the red pepper (but the black pepper was fine) 3. I didn't want to use the amount of oil it would take to deep fry it, so I covered the bottom of some glass baking dishes with oil a few millimeters thick and baked the fish on that, turning it over half way through None of these changes caused any harm, and even my son, who doesn't like fish, really liked this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luc Reid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I used tilapia... Followed recipe exactly except my crisco wasn't butter flavored. It was amazing! I'll never fry fish any other way. My picky kids loved it! Very crunchy and nice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Crunchy! Crunchy! Crunchy! so, i changed this a bit, due to gluten issues and my husband hates spicy things. Instead of cayenne, i used oregano (1 tbs) and powdered garlic (1 tbs). Instead of the flour, i used fine corn meal (masa). it was quite wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Best coating I have ever used for Halibut! My husband and family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Mckinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I used all the other ingrediants but used half flour, half cornmeal, brushed Tilapia with plain greek yogurt and then fried in some coconut oil with sautéed garlic.. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Worked well. Served with tempura dipping sauce rice and edamame
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Made this as written with the exception of only putting in a sprinkle of chili powder due to serving to a 1 and 2 year old. It was great but needed some additional flavor. Next time will make with full amount to see if that helps. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I had never fried fish before trying this recipe. It was super easy, and delicious! I used canola oil for the frying and it turned out crispy and beautiful. Great recipe! I won't use it often because I don't like to eat too much fried food, but when we're hungry for 'fish n chips' this will be the go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Wow -- this was great. I am not inclined to fry foods often but I am glad I did with this one. I used fresh ocean perch filets, they were light, crispy and delicious. homemade tartar sauce was the icing on the cake and my husband and daughter GOBBLED this up. I was thinking we would have a lot of leftovers -- not at all. And, I used brown rice flour in addition to the potato flakes to keep it gluten free. Thanks for the great recipe -- I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Being vegetarian, we used a vegetarian "fish" just to see how it would come out. Like another reviewer we used canola oil instead of shortening and crushed saltine crackers instead of potato flakes. Wow! Surprisingly good results. Thank you Kristi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States