Crispy Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
The boyfriend stopped 3 times to say how awesome the coating was. The key is definitely as others have said, to flour the fish first - this way the egg/mixture sticks better and you get a better coating. I could have eaten this without a sauce on the side - the mustard made such a nice addition. At first I thought it was too much but it really wasn't - after it's fried it's not as potent. We also threw in some garlic powder into the mustard/egg mixture (if you throw the spices into the potato mixture it will fall to the bottom and never get on the fish). I used tilapia (apparently they dont carry grey sole or any sole for that matter in Virginia) and only needed 2 minutes on each side for a gorgeous golden brown coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I made this recipe for dinner tonight. I used flour instead of potato flakes, becuase I love the way flour tastes when it fries on the fish. And, it turned out great. It was so good and my husband really liked it too. A previou pst said that the potato flakes caused some problems - I suggest using flour instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I used orange roughy, Dijon mustard, and Jane's Crazy Mixed Up Salt. I baked it in the oven at 450' and it came out crispy with a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Good recipe.Hint:if you want coating to stick to fish,dredge in flour before you dip into egg mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSWEN2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Great recipe! I used flounder but recipe still worked great. I agree with everyone who said coat the fish in flour before the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Ussually, I'm so-so on fried fish b/c I've had some that were too bland or too "fried" but this was fantastic! Best fried fish I ever had and I will never make it another way again! I only added a dash of salt to the batter and this was perfect. Not a person in the house could remember a time when they had a better fried fish recipe! I can't wait to pass this recipe to my mom. THANK YOU KIMBER for this EASY and GREAT fish recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Even though I seasoned my garlic instant potato flakes quite heavily, including the addition of parm cheese, this recipe still rates five stars. I floured my tilapia before dipping into the egg mixture which helped the coating to stick. My family flipped over this recipe and my hubby said that the fish was "out of this world"! Nice compliment for both of us Kimber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was the first time I have made sole fish, it was great, a very mild tasting fish. I used bread crumbs instead of potato flakes(didn't have it), dijon mustard(1 Tbspn) instead of yellow mustard. I also added spices to the bread crumbs - garlic powder and minced dried onions. I will definitely make this again and add oregano to bread crumbs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This was good!! We followed some of the other reviewers and added bread crumbs to the flakes. We also dusted the filets(talpia)with flour 1st. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JettnTX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Seriously crunchy fried fish - love it! I've made this twice now with the addition of a flour dusting before frying. The mustard takes fish to a whole new level of yumminess that will please both adults AND kids. A major plus is that by using GF flour to dust the fish, this recipe is GLUTEN FREE! I've made it with tilapia and grouper, both worked well. The first time, I prepped all the fish, then put them into the pan. The second time, I had more fish, so dropped each one into the pan as soon as it was coated. That was a mistake. The coating came off a few of the fillets and what remained was little gummy where it met the fish. So for fish perfection, dust all the fillets in flour, then run them all through the first dip/potato dredge, then all of them through the second dip/dredge, then finally fry them up, in batches, if needed. The short resting times between the steps made a REAL difference in finished quality. I let the fish rest on a wire rack, which helps a lot, too. The top of a broiler pan would work as well. The second time I made them I added cajun spice from the recipe for Maple Cajun Mahi Mahi and loved that, too. I put the spices in the mustard/egg dip. Terrific! This is a perfect base recipe for fried fish. The bottom line - the potato flakes, mustard, and rest between steps results in perfect fish! **UPDATE** Made tonight with GF bread crumbs and flounder, only 1 coating. Still super crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States