Crispy Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
My 3 year old ate it, so . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I would rate this somewhere between a 4-5. I really liked the way the coating taste as it seemed less heavy than egg and flour batters. I had 1 lb of wild haddock and I used the full amount of liquid, but cut the mashed potato flakes in half. Both were the perfect amount. For the mustard I used dijon. I couldn't really taste it and may try another mustard next time. I might also try adding seasoning to the fish before adding the egg and potato flakes. Make sure to use a good brand of potato flakes that have more weight and texture to them. It is necessary for them to get nice and crispy. I also had to add another about 1 Tblsp of vegetable oil after flipping. The pan looked completely dry after I turned over the fish. Next time, I will also cook the 1 lb of fish in 2 batches. Over-crowding caused a little breakage. I will make this again. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
After adding some garlic powder and onion powder, this recipe was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Fantastic!!! This reminds me of the fish sticks I grew up on, but better (and I mean that in the best possible way)!! If your kids will eat fish sticks, try these because they are really good and not packed with garbage. I used sole, but I'm sure that tilapia would work great as well. Honestly, I was stunned when I took the first bite because I am not a natural fish fan. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
A wonderful, simple and quick way to make sole. We all loved it. Nice and crunchy. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
These were, just as the name suggests, nice crispy fish fillets. They have a nice, light crust. I used fresh ono (like halibut), and they came out crispy, tasty, and flakey. I did not use nearly the amount of mashed potato flakes called for, however. This one goes "in the book"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I was a little bit nervous about this one due to the mustard (my daughter hates mustard) but you could barely even taste it, and the overall flavor with the potato flakes was amazing! Will definitely make this again (I used flounder and it came out perfectly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I thought this was okay and needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
These were delicious! The only thing I changed up a bit was to dip the fillets in flavored mashed potato flakes first (Idahoan four-cheese blend, in a small package), then the egg, then the big potato flakes. I could have eaten it all myself. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Delicious!! I made mine with exactly as the recipe is written, except that I used tilapia instead of sole. I wasn't sure how strong these would taste with so much yellow mustard, but once they were cooked, I could barely taste it at all. We had ours with a bit of cocktail sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammondsville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States