Crispy Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I rated this a 4, because you really need to add a lot of seasoning to this. I used flounder, and floured the fish first. Also, I used half potato flakes and half panko. Overall, a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Everyone in my family enjoyed this recipe. I may try this recipe with another type of fish next time as the sole was very thin and broke into pieces when plating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was a great way to use the flounder I got on sale. I also used panko instead of the potato flakes but I thought the flavor was EXCELLENT. I didn't taste a lot of mustard (I wouldn't have minded!) and I thought it needed just a little more seasoning. But this was definitely worth trying and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Perfect just as written. I used my husband's fresh caught bluegill and crappie. We all loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Wow! This reminded me of the Fish Fries that all the restaurants and hamburger joints in the Rochester NY area serve every Friday! I double dipped, as suggested, to make the coating extra crispy. I recommend blotting the filets with paper towels to dry them a bit before dipping in the egg batter, to help the coating stick well. Otherwise, I didn't change a thing and it was just fine. If you double-dip, you will need twice as much of the egg/mustard/salt mixture as the recipe calls for, but no extra potato flakes needed. Serve with french fries and cole slaw to make the complete, traditional Fish-Fry. Note that this recipe is gluten-free, which is also a good thing! Thank-you, Kimber, for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Just made this recipe...added some seasoned breadcrumbs to the potato flakes and used perch. Awesome! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Christopher will eat this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
A good recipe... I used extra virgin olive oil and only 2.5 tbsp at that (my filets were not that big). I used a Panko coating instead of the mashed potato. I enjoyed this very much, and it was easy. I will tweek it a little next time to enhance to taste (I omitted the salt). Overall the coating did wash out the flavor of the sole a little, but again they were thin filets so that was a factor. I would recommend this in an instant, but thicker filets would be in order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I used an extra egg, planning to double dip. This was an excellent change from batter fried. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I am so happy with this, because I finally found a way to get my 7 y.o. to eat fish! He won't eat a lot of it, but I'll take what I can get. ;-) It turned out perfectly: light and crispy, w/o being greasy or too thick, like many others. Now, if I could just find more natural potato flakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States